Duke Libraries

Ask us now

US Public Policy

Who: Civil Society

Civil Society
Civil Society is often used as an umbrella term for the various organizations and associations formed outside of government. It could include NGOs, nonprofits, grassroots organizations, think tanks, and research institutes.
Almanac of Federal PACs
Latest in Perkins Ref., earlier Perkins stacks 
Provides brief descriptions of U.S. political action committees.  Includes receipts, expenditures, and contributions to Democrats and Republicans.
Encyclopedia of Associations in the Gale Directory Library
Go to Databases and enter Gale Directory in the box under Find Database.
Contains 154,000 detailed listings for organizations all over the world. 
Encylopedia of Religion in American Politics.
Oryx Press.  1999.  Perkins Ref.
Encyclopedia of Women in American Politics.
Oryx Press.  1999.  Perkins Ref. 
Guidestar
GuideStar is a searchable database of more than 620,000 nonprofit organizations in the United States, produced by Philanthropic Research, Inc., a public charity, in collaboration with the Urban Institute. Search the database for a summary of each organization's mission and programs, with financial information and IRS Form 990s filed. Free registration required; some parts of the database are available by subscription only.
Health Policy Gateway
Comprehensive portal created by Chris Conover of the Duke University Center for Health Policy, Law, and Management. Identifies people, institutions, programs, data and analysis of key issues in health policy.
NIRA's World Directory of Think Tanks
"Provides a systematic introduction to the world's most prominent and innovative public policy research institutes, better known as think tanks. Contains up-to-date information available on 320 specially selected think tanks from 77 countries and regions." Not searchable by keywords; name and country only. 
Non-governmental Organizations research guide
Both a research guide and a database of NGO web sites, focusing on women and development, environmentally sustainable development, and human rights. From Perkins Library's Public Documents & Maps Dept.
Open Secrets: the encyclopedia of Congressional money and politics
Congressional Quarterly.  1990 - 1996.   Perkins 
Thorough examination of political contributions to Congressional candidates, with profiles of industry, committees, PACs, and members of Congress.
Open Secrets.org
The Center for Responsive Politics tracks who's giving how much to whom. Use the tabs at the top or search for individual donor records (since 1990) from the left sidebar. Mostly covers from 2000 election to present.
Political Advocacy Groups
Wonderful comprehensive resource for finding political advocacy groups by issue they work on. Includes contact info, ratings by how often they are cited in the media, and whether or not they assign ratings to members of Congress. By Kathi Fountain of Washington State U.
Professor Jentleson's Link Library
From Bruce Jentleson, links to think tanks, NGOs, IGOs, journals, news and public opinion polls. 
Public Interest Profiles
From Congressional Quarterly. Perkins Reference 
Provides basic information about U.S. public interest groups.  Includes budget, funding sources, and brief analysis of political orientation and effectiveness.
 



Last modified September 4, 2009 10:55:20 AM EDT

Home | Libraries | Ask Us Now | Catalog | Hours | Library Web Site Search | Site Index

Mobile Library Home (content for handheld devices such as cellphones)

Creative Commons License
Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.

Perkins Circulation Desk: 919-660-5870