Duke Libraries

Ask us now

US Public Policy

Why: Analysis

Policy Analysis
Why and how did the issue arise? Why are citizens and representatives voting the way they do? The analysis is your job, but for a start here's what other analysts are saying.
Academic OneFile
New database with more full-text coverage of scholarly journals than InfoTrac OneFile. Bonus: podcasts and transcripts from NPR, CNN, and CBC. 
Academic Search Premier
Full text from over 1300 general and scholarly journals, with indexing and abstracts from many more. You can also search Communication and Mass Media Complete  from this interface.
Almanac of Policy Issues
Portal to background, news, and related links on various policy issues, each of which contains subsections. Fairly simple but a good place to start.
American Foreign Policy: the dynamics of choice in the 21st century, 3rd edition
Link Library and Updates
from Bruce Jentleson. Links to think tanks, NGOs, IGOs, journals, news, public opinion polls
Annenberg Public Policy Center
U. of Pennsylvania center that researches political communication, information and society, media and the developing child, health communication, and adolescent risk.
Center for Democracy and Technology
A non-profit which tracks legislation and policy issues involving the government and the Internet. A special section is devoted to Homeland Security issues.
Center for Information Policy
From the University of Maryland, independent research and analysis of issues pertaining to the collection, use, distribution, and preservation of information. Provides online versions of their journal publications on topics such as copyright, security, and civil liberties.
Center for Strategic and International Studies
A non-profit, non-partisan organization which uses experts from the world's major geographical regions to provide analysis of international current events, international finance, U.S. domestic and economic policy, and U.S. foreign policy and national security issues.
Center on Globalization, Governance and Competitiveness
A research affiliate of Duke University's Social Science Research Institute (SSRI). See especially the project on North Carolina in the Global Economy.
CIAO (Columbia International Affairs Online)
A source of full texts and/or abstracts for books, journals, conference proceedings, and research reports in the field of International Affairs. Subject coverage includes global politics, global religion, nationalism, terrorism, diplomacy, security, and political economy. Covers 1991 - present.
Common Cause
A nonpartisan nonprofit devoted to "holding power accountable" and encouraging political participation. Follows issues in media and democracy, money in politics, government accountability, and more.
Congressional Digest
1998-present in Pro & Con database.
1923 - present.  Current year in Perkins Periodicals; earlier in Perkins stacks.
An independent monthly devoted to one topic per issue.  Includes bill summaries, recent action, and pro and con statements from Congressional representatives. Indexed each December.
CQ Weekly , CQ Voting and Elections, and CQ Researcher in CQ Electronic Library
Weekly: Print in Perkins Periodicals; earlier Perkins stacks
Researcher: Print in Perkins Reference; earlier Perkins stacks
Comprehensive analysis and discussion of current issues facing Congress and the United States. CQ Voting & Elections integrates data, authoritative analyses, concise explanations, and historical material on the American voter, major and minor political parties, campaigns and elections and historical and modern races for Congress, the presidency, and governorships. Chronological coverage varies by office. Presidential coverage begins 1789.
CRS Reports
LexisNexis Congressional  (1916-present)
In-depth studies done for the U.S. Congress by the Congressional Research Service. These provide excellent reviews and analysis of issues.
Democracy Now!
This public radio show provides audio, video, and print transcripts of their shows free online. Their focus is on national and international social justice and peace.
Governing: the magazine of states and localities
Congressional Quarterly.  1987 - present.  Latest in Perkins Periodicals; earlier in Perkins stacks
A good start for current awareness of local issues.  Full-text from 1992 in LexisNexis Academic, indexed in PAIS
The Hill
"The Hill is a non-partisan, non-ideological weekly newspaper that describes the inner workings of Congress, the pressures confronting policy makers and the many ways -- often unpredictable -- in which decisions are made." Founded by a New York Times reporter.
Internet and Politics
News on digital campaigning and its effectiveness, with links to other political sites.  Free from the New York Times, but initial registration is required. Once you've registered, this link will take you straight to the section.
LexisNexis Congressional
In-depth studies done for the U.S. Congress by the Congressional Research Service. These provide excellent reviews and analysis of issues--Congress's policy memos.
Moving Ideas
A project of the liberal American Prospect. Click on Issues to search for articles by subject, and check the related links to other organizations.
National Journal
1969 - present.  Latest in Current Periodicals; earlier in Perkins Stacks. Also available through National Journal.com  database.
Broad but thorough view of issues facing the nation. Looks at all branches of the federal government as well as some state coverage. Covers elections nationwide. Less statistical than CQ Weekly Report but provides more analysis and commentary.
PAIS International
1915-present
Commercial index that covers journal articles on public policy and government documents, especially hearings. Includes links to many web sites relevant to public policy, and scholars in the field.
Potomac Institute for Policy Studies
An independent research institute focusing on science and technology issues. Includes the International Center for Terrorism Studies and National Security Health Policy Center. Goes beyond policy analysis to attempt to implement recommendations through building consensus.
Pro & Con
The Congressional Digest, Supreme Court Debates, and International Debates present opposing views on various topics through the text of court decisions, statements from members of Congress or texts from experts in the field.
Public Agenda Online
"The Inside Source for Public Opinion and Policy Analysis" from a nonpartisan, nonprofit public opinion research and citizen education organization, founded by social scientist and author Daniel Yankelovich and former Secretary of State Cyrus Vance.
Rand Corporation
This think tank publishes research on many policy issues. Look for the Rand collection in the Perkins/Bostock Library Public Documents stacks; all publications are cataloged with a RAND call number.
SpeakOut.com
A commercial service for activists which includes articles from policy journals, think tanks and advocacy organizations, as well as news.
University Channel
The University Channel offers free videos and podcasts of academic lectures and events from all over the world. Focus on public affairs and international relations.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Contains abstracts from scholarly journals, public affairs magazines, major news magazines, professional journals, and books. Topics include political institutions, international law and politics, and public policy. Covers 1975 to present.

Last modified January 19, 2009 3:20:43 PM EST

Home | Libraries | Ask Us Now | Catalog | Hours | Library Web Site Search | Site Index

Mobile Library Home (content for handheld devices such as cellphones)

Creative Commons License
Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.

Perkins Circulation Desk: 919-660-5870