Duke Libraries

Ask us now

Additional Resources

Manuscript Collections

The Bingham Center has acquired the papers of several notable book artists which document their lives and artistic processes.

Nava Atlas Papers
This collection includes materials from her dual careers as a book artist and as a vegetarian chef and cookbook author. Includes book proposals, correspondence, proofs and dummies, reviews, and promotional pieces from many of Atlas' published works, as well as artwork, articles, and drafts from various freelance pieces.

Clarissa Sligh Papers
Clarissa Sligh is a visual artist, writer, and lecturer. When she was 15 years old she became the lead plaintiff in the 1955 school desegregation case in Virginia (Clarissa Thompson et. al. vs. Arlington County School Board). After working in math and science with NASA and later in business, she began a career as an artist, using photographs, drawings, text, and personal stories to explore themes of transformation and social justice. In 1988, she published her first artists' book "What's Happening With Momma?" through the Women's Studio Workshop in New York. Collection includes materials relating to Sligh's career as an artist, with particular focus on her various projects and exhibitions in the 1980s, 1990s, and early 2000s.

Mary Margaret Wade Papers
A native of Winston-Salem, North Carolina, Mary Margaret Wade received a journalism degree from the University of Georgia and a Master of Education degree from Howard University. She taught art at the independent elementary school, the Atlanta School, and worked with artists' book press Nexus Press. Wade moved to Durham, North Carolina in 1996 and was program director for Arts for Life-Duke, a program for children suffering life-threatening illnesses at Duke University Hospital.

Secondary Sources

Items held by Duke University Libraries are linked to the catalog record.

Castleman, Riva.  A Century of Artists’ Books. New York: Museum of Modern Art, c1994.

Courtney, Cathy. Speaking of Book Art: Interviews with British and American Book Artists. Los Altos Hills, CA: Anderson-Lovelace, 1999.

Drucker, Johanna. The Century of Artists’ Books. New York: Granary Books, 1995.

Guild of Book Workers.  Abecedarium: An Exhibit of Alphabet Books, The Guild of Book Workers, 1998-1999. Chicago : The Guild of Book Workers, c1998.

Hatch, Marilyn et al, ed. Resonance and response: Artists’ Books from Special Collections, Wellesley College Library, June 15-18, 2005. Wellesley, Mass.: Wellesley College Library, c2005.

Hubert, Renée Riese and Judd D. Hubert. The Cutting Edge of Reading: Artists’ Books. New York: Granary Books, 1999.

Klima, Stefan. Artists Books: A Critical Survey of the Literature. New York: Granary Books, 1998.

Lauf, Cornelia and Clive Philpot. Artist/Author: Contemporary Artists’ Books. New York: Distributed Art Publishers, 1998.

Lorenz, Angela. An Exhibition of Limited Edition Books by Angela Lorenz: Widener Memorial Room Rotunda, Widener Library, Harvard University, September, 1994. Manchester, MA: A. Lorenz, c1994.

Other Artists' Book Collections

Museum of Modern Art (New York, NY) The world’s largest repository, with over 10,000 artists’ books and home to the Franklin Furnace Archive, an avant-garde art organization.

National Museum of Women in the Arts (Washington, DC) has a collection of about 650 artists’ books.  They actively collect works by women book artists, and have an annual exhibition series. 

University of Delaware Special Collections Library

University of California at Los Angeles

Yale University Arts of the Book Collection

Joan Flasch Artists' Book Collection at the Art Institute of Chicago

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill- Sloane Art Library 

University of Washington Book Arts Collection

Other notable collections

Book Arts Workshops and Other Resources

Artists' Books Online

Asheville Book Works, Asheville, NC

Book Arts Web 

Booklyn, Brooklyn, NY 

Center for Book Arts, New York, NY 

Printed Matter, New York, NY

Virginia Arts of the Book Center, Charlottesville, VA

Women's Studio Workshop, Rosendale, NY 

 

follow us on Twitter follow us on Facebook follow us on YouTube follow us on Flickr follow us on Pinterest follow our blogs and feeds

Contact Us919-660-5870
(Perkins Circulation Desk)

Home | Libraries | Ask Us Now | Catalog | Hours | Library Web Site Search | Site Index

Mobile Library Home (content for handheld devices such as cellphones)

Creative Commons License

Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.


Last modified August 30, 2012 1:04:00 PM EDT