Artists' Books by Women
The Bingham Center has a collection of about 200 artists' books by women about gender, sexuality, and other women's issues. Artists' books are original works of art that explore the structure and meaning of the book as a form.
Charis Books and More Records
Founded in 1974 in Atlanta, Ga., is the oldest feminist bookstore in the Southeast, and Charis Circle is a non-profit organization founded in July of 1996 that furthers the mission of the bookstore by offering free educational and cultural events and programs to the community. Documents the day-to-day operation, programs, and mission of Charis Books and More and Charis Circle, and the interrelated nature of these two organizations. 8655 items
Nancy Hanks Papers, 1894-1987 (bulk 1945-1983)
Arts organization administrator and consultant. The Nancy Hanks collection is useful as a study of the development of private and governmental arts programs, in particular through her position as the Chair of National Endowment for the Arts (NEA) from 1969-1977, and her service with the National Council on the Arts. 58,000 items.
Anita Mills Women Artists Resource Files, 1979-1989 and n.d.
Alphabetically arranged research files containing slides, journal articles, and notes concerning the lives and work of over 700 international women artists. Includes material on artists from the Middle Ages through the 20th century, but focuses primarily on the 19th and 20th centuries. Includes works by feminist artists, lesbian artists and artists of Hispanic, Asian, African-American, and Native American descent. Includes material regarding women artists and social change and the women’s art movement as well as audiotapes from the Minnesota Women Artists’ Oral History Project and national conferences of the Women’s Caucus for Art and the Society or Photographic Education. 5000 items.
Dorothy Teer Papers, 1983-1997
Feminist, anti-violence-against-women activist, and proprietor of Southern Sisters (feminist/women’s) bookstore in Durham, N.C. Some materials relate to her ownership of the bookstore. 23400 items.
Women’s Zines Collections
The Bingham Center has an extensive collection of zines by women and girls, and the searchable database offers the following related subject terms: Music, comics, poetry, literary, visual arts, and performing arts.
Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.