Organizational Archives
Women's Collections on Microfilm
- Association of Southern Women for the Prevention of Lynching
Papers, 1930-1942.
- CALL NUMBER: M6041, guide available.
These papers document the efforts of an organization, closely
alligned with the Commission on Interracial Cooperation, to
alleviate lynchings which were occuring with increasing frequency
in the 1920's. Under the direction of Jessie Daniel Ames, the
ASWPL's purpose was "to put ourselves definitely on record as
opposed to lynching in every form and under all circumstances."
microfilm: 8 reels.
- FBI File on the American Churchwomen Killed in El Salvador,
December 2, 1980.
- CALL NUMBER: M6729, guide available.
The documents in this file include memorandums, letters, teletypes,
airtels, specimen analysis sheets, photographs of the alleged
murder weapons, field reports, newspaper clippings, witness
statements, requests for information by the victims' families, and
polygraph examination reports on the suspects, the El Salvador
National Guard who allegedly assaulted, sexually abused, and
finally shot and left for dead four missionary women on the night
of December 2, 1980. microfilm: 2 reels.
- National Association for the Advancement of Colored People
(NAACP) Archives.
- CALL NUMBER: M5100, guides available.
There are many women-related materials within the vast archives of
this groundbreaking organization. Some of the many examples are:
general office files documenting the employnment of women by the
Ford Motor Company; administrative files of the Women's Auxiliary
to the NAACP and the National Women's Party; and personal
correspondence files of civil rights worker, Juanita Jackson.
microfilm: 21 parts.
- Papers of the League of Women Voters, 1918-1974.
- CALL NUMBER: M5974s, guides available.
The archives of the organization which stimulated and legitimated
women's political activism throughout the postsuffrage period.
Included are minutes and related documents of the Board of
Directors and executive committees, (1918-1974); transcripts and
records of national conventions and general councils, (1919-1974);
and national office subject files, (1920-1932). microfilm: 98
reels.
- Records of the Brotherhood of Sleeping Car Porters: Lady's
Auxiliary, 1931-1968.
- CALL NUMBER: M6748, guide available.
Series A, Part 2 of the BSCP archive, this collection documents a
group which formed in an effort to provide a family-like network
for the Brotherhood by offering moral support during job actions,
raising money for the BSCP, and "spreading the gospel of trade
unionism throughout the black population." microfilm: 10
reels.
- Records of the National Association of Colored Women's Clubs,
1895-1992.
- CALL NUMBER: M7037, guide available.
The NACWC is the oldest African American secular "self-help"
organization in existence today. This edition of the archives
documents their activities during the modern civil rights movement
including records of fundraising, cooperation with the NAACP,
Southern Christian Leadership Conference, and Congress of Racial
Equality, and grassroots organization of voter registration
projects. microfilm: 41 reels.
- Records of the Women's Bureau of the Department of
Labor,1918-1965.
- CALL NUMBER: Public Documents Department: M7, guide
available.
Includes reports of the director, annual summaries, major
conferences, speeches, and articles which trace the development of
this agency founded on the principle of women and fair employment.
microfilm: 23 reels.
Last modified April 13, 2006 5:15:41 PM EDT