Topical Collections of Primary Sources
Women's Collections on Microfilm
- American Immigrant Autobiographies.
- CALL NUMBER: M6638, guide available.
Compiled as part one of a project by the Immigration History
Research Center at the University of Minnesota. The collection
includes every substantive manuscript autobiography (as well as
rare printed autobiographies) collected before 1900. Many of these
stories are told by women, from farm laborers to women's rights
activists, who emmigrated from countries in eastern as well as
western europe. microfilm: 7 reels.
- Brazil's Popular Groups.
- CALL NUMBERS: M6646 and M6768
A collection of materials issued by socio-political, religious,
labor and minority grass-roots organizations from 1966-1986 with a
supplement (1987-1989) including materials on human and minority
rights and women's issues. microfilm: 32 and 43 reels.
- Herstory. 1956-1974.
- CALL NUMBER: M7340. Guide Available
The only comprehensive collection of materials produced by and
about the women's movement. Assembled from the holdings of the
International Women's History Archive at the Women's History
Research Center (WHRC), this collection includes newsletters,
journals, and newspapers on women's issues produced by civic,
professional, religious, and political groups. microfilm: 90
- Sex Research: Early Literature from Statistics to Erotica.
- CALL NUMBER: M7200, guide available.
Filmed from the holdings of the Institute for Sex Research Library,
Indiana University, including titles from 1700-1860. Section one
deals with sexual behavior and attitudes, section two with sex, law
and medicine, section three with sex and literature, and section
four with sex and the humanities. microfilm: 120 reels.
- Voices from Ellis Island an Oral History of American
- CALL NUMBER: S201.733, guide available.
From 1892-1954, Ellis Island, a small tract of land in New York
Harbor, served as the point of entry for over 12 million
immigrants. The National Park Service and the Statue of
Liberty-Ellis Island Foundation, in an effort to document this
significant piece of history, sponsored an oral history project to
interview surviving immigrants and former Ellis Island employees.
The end result is a collection of 185 interviews-many with
women-who entered the U.S. between 1904 and 1929. microfiche: 185
- What Women Wrote: Scenarios, 1912-1929.
- CALL NUMBER: M7047, guide available.
A collection of writings by twelve women screenwriters of the
silent motion picture era including Alice Guy BlachÃ©, Clara
Beranger, Lois Weber, Olga Printzlau, Beulah Marie Dix, Frances
Marion, Bess Meredyth, June Mathis, Jeanie MacPherson, and
Josephine Lovett. Complete with indexes for author, title, and
date. microfilm: 2 reels.
- Women and Gender Issues in Brazil.
- CALL NUMBER: M7098
From the Princeton University Latin American Pamphlet Collection.
Documents social conditions as well as health and hygiene of
Brazilian women between 1978 and 1986. microfilm: 3 reels.
- Women and Gender Issues in Peru.
- CALL NUMBER: M7096
Also from the Princeton University Library, materials in this
collection provide unique insights on the history of the women's
movement in Peru. Materials include pamphlets, broadsides, fliers,
and posters. microfilm: 2 reels.
- Women in Ecuador, 1983-1988.
- CALL NUMBER: M7229
Another item from the Princeton University Pamphlet Collection,
this collection documents employment, family violence, and abuse of
women in Ecuador. microfilm: 1 reel.
- Women's Studies Manuscript Collections From the Schlesinger
Library, Radcliffe College. Series 1. Women's suffrage.
- CALL NUMBER: M6667, guide available.
Duke holds Part C: The South. Part C is an effort to document
patterns by which Southern women worked their way towards taking a
public stand for suffrage. microfilm: 8 reels.
Last modified April 13, 2006 5:10:06 PM EDT