Bibliography

Browse database entries for this category

This sub-collection is made up of 784 records, most of which represent pamphlets.

The dates range from 1806-1943.

Not only are there pamphlets in this group which reflect the more traditional meaning of "bibliography" as a list of titles or works; there are also wider bibliographic subjects covered by this heading. The bibliographic issues included in this group are: librarianship; book history; the history of printing and the book trade; texts as material artifacts; catalogues of libraries (unless on a specific subject such as "Science"); and any general bibliographies which cannot be grouped under any other Mazzoni Collection subject heading. For a bibliography of the works of Galileo, for example, one would look in the item-level database under "Science -- Italy," or under the combined search terms of "Biography" and "Galileo."

The most important materials in this grouping are pamphlets related to the printing industry in Italy, catalogues of various large and small libraries, a few rare book catalogues, and pamphlets discussing issues of librarianship in nineteenth-century Italy.

Individuals represented include: Guido Mazzoni, Guido Biagi, Giuseppe Boffito, Luigi Pescetti, Aldo Manutio (S), Leonardo da Vinci (S), Galileo Galilei (S), Lucrezia Borgia (S), Caterina de' Medici (S),Isabella d'Este (S), Gabriele D'Annunzio (S), Giovanni Boccaccio (S), Tommaso Grossi (S), and Emilio Teza (S).

Related works can be found under more specific subject headings, such as "Church history" for bibliographies of writings on the Church, or for catalogues of works held by churches rather than secular institutions.