Subject Category Descriptions

Amusement & Entertainment

This category includes ads for the following:

Bars, Casinos, Concerts, Country Clubs, Live productions (e.g. theater), Lotteries, Museums, Motion pictures, Movies, Night clubs, Race tracks, Sporting events, Teams (sports), Theaters, Theme parks, Venues (concert or event venues), Zoos.
Generally, advertisements for hotels, resorts, national parks, and whole geographic areas ("See Florida!") as tourist destinations were placed in Transportation & Travel (T & T), but there is overlap with T & T. Look in both categories for a comprehensive search. Products in the Amusement & Entertainment category are generally final destinations, as opposed to means of travel. Most television show advertisements were placed in the Media category since the network was most often a prominent part of the advertisement, but some may also be found here. Most recordings can be found in the Consumer Goods & Services category.

Apparel

This category includes ads for the following:

Clothing brands, Fashion accessories, Footwear (shoes), Jewelry

If searching for a particular apparel brand name, search this category along with "Retail," as it was often difficult to tell if a name on a billboard referred to a brand of clothing or an entire clothing store. Zippers were usually placed in the Consumer Goods category. Ads for watches may be found in Apparel or Consumer Goods & Services.

Automotive

This category includes ads for the following:

Auto parts, Auto parts stores, Auto service, Auto dealers, Auto leasing, Auto manufacturers, Motor oil, Motorcycles, Motorcycle products, RVs, Tires, Tractors

This category includes advertisements for almost anything related to cars, except gasoline. Auto parts stores are usually included here, not under Retail. Gasoline and gas stations were placed under Transportation & Travel (T & T). Ads showing both motor oil and gasoline (and/or car service) were put in the category of the item most prominent. A search for all gas stations should be completed in both this category and T & T. Often an ad advertised both car products and gasoline, or just the brand name was presented (Texaco - provides oil, gas, and car service). Sometimes it was unclear whether an ad was for an automotive or a household radiator and so both the Automotive and Consumer Goods & Services categories should be checked for those items. To search for a particular car dealer, look through subgroups of that dealer's manufacturer within this category.

Beverage

This category includes ads for the following:

Alcoholic beverages, Non-alcoholic beverages

This category includes ads for alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages including mixers, coffee, buttermilk, and milk. Evaporated milk is most often found in the Food & Restaurants category. For a comprehensive search of all beverages, also check the Food and Restaurants category.

Business & Technology

This category includes ads for the following:

Agricultural products, Armed forces, Banks, Builders, Business to business services, Computers, Credit cards, Financial service organizations, Freight services, Government organizations, Health care, Insurance, Manufacturing equipment, Office products, Office space, Real estate, Schools, Software, Telecommunications, Telemarketing firms, Utilities

General office supplies usually went into the Consumer Goods & Services category. Flooring and wallpaper (as well as other items used both by builders and average consumers) should be searched both in this category and in Consumer Goods & Services. Ads for lotteries can usually be found within the Amusement & Entertainment category. Car dealer financing is usually found in the Automotive category. Outdoor advertising is usually found in the Media category.

Many ads featuring major appliances are without a brand name - these are probably for a utility company andwere placed here. For this reason, however, some utility-sponsored ads may also be found in the Consumer Goods category. Search both this category and Consumer Goods for animal feed. Government-sponsored ads can be found in this category but if sponsorship was questionable, ads may have been put into Public Service, Consumer Goods, or some other category according to the nature of the ad. Schools were sometimes put into the Public Services category as a non-profit and sometimes placed here. This category contains the largest variety of materials. Check other categories to complete a comprehensive search.

Consumer Goods & Services

This category includes ads for the following:

Appliances, Books, Cemeteries, Dry cleaners, Electronics, Florists, Furniture, Gum, Gyms and Health clubs, Funeral services, Health & Beauty products, Hobby and craft items, Household products, Office supplies, Over-the-counter medicines, Pet food and supplies, Recordings (albums, CDs), Repair services, Sporting goods, Tobacco products, Toys and games, Undertakers, Vitamins

Household products include zippers, most flooring, and wallpaper. Office supplies were placed here but other office products are in Business & Technology. Services were also placed here including funeral homes, and dry cleaners. Cable Service ads can usually be found in the Media category. Search for watches in this and the Apparel category. Cars, motor oil, car-related products, RVs, and motorcycles can be found mostly in the Automotive category. Gasoline can be found in the Transportation & Travel category. Sometimes it was unclear whether an ad was for an automotive or a household radiator and so both the Automotive and Consumer Goods & Services categories should be checked for those items.

Food & Restaurants

This category includes ads for the following:

Candy, Confectionery, Food, Food services, Ingredients, Prepared foods, Produce

Gum, pet food, and tobacco products were most often placed in Consumer Goods & Services, although some may still be found here. Beverages, including coffee and milk, can usually be found in their own Beverages category. Grocery store and supermarket ads are usually found within the Retail category.

Media

This category includes ads for the following:

Advertising, Cable television, Direct mail, Internet services, Magazines, Newspapers, Outdoor advertising, Radio stations, Television stations, Yellow Pages

Ads for recordings (albums, CDs, etc.) and books were usually placed in the Consumer Goods & Services category.

Public Service

This category includes advertising created for a charitable cause or by a non-profit organization. Government organizations are normally listed under Business & Technology, but government sponsorship of an ad was often difficult to discern. Check this category and Business & Technology for a more comprehensive search. Political campaign and issue ads can usually be found here.

Some Public Service-type ads were actually placed under the sponsor's usual category, if the sponsor's name was an obvious part of the ad. For instance an ad saying "Don't Drink and Drive, courtesy of Fred's Funerals" may have been placed under Consumer Goods & Services. Schools were sometimes put into the Public Service category as a non-profit and sometimes placed in Business & Technology.

Retail

This category includes ads for the following:

Convenience stores, Department stores, Discount stores, Drug stores, Grocery stores, Malls, Pet stores, Other Retail stores, Shopping centers, Variety stores

Some ads featuring clothing lines may have been placed here by mistake since it was often difficult to tell whether a name referred to the clothing brand or a store name. Some of these ads also feature an individual product or products carried by the retail store. If the item seemed prominent in the ad, the slide may have been indexed under Consumer Goods or Food & Restaurants. For auto parts store ads, search this category as well as the Automotive category.

Transportation & Travel

This category includes ads for the following:

Airlines, Bus lines, Cruise ships, Gasoline, Gasoline stations, Hotels, National parks, Public transportation, Resorts, Trains, Travel/Tourism services

Since gas stations but not car service are included in this category, search both this and the Automotive category for an ad featuring a company that sold gas and provided auto service. This category also overlaps a great deal with the Amusement & Entertainment category - search both categories for a comprehensive search.


Back to Top