As one of the largest advertising history collections in the world, the Hartman Center has built a reputation for its resources documenting advertising, sales, and marketing. The Center maintains the records of several advertising agencies and trade organizations, the professional papers of various marketing executives, collections of advertising ephemera created by private collectors, and a growing library of related books and periodicals. Information about Ogilvy & Mather's founder, employees, and advertising is contained in numerous collections identified in this guide. For more information, many of the Hartman Center finding aids are searchable on the web at http://library.duke.edu/rubenstein/findingaids/.
The agency of Hewitt, Ogilvy, Benson & Mather was founded by David Ogilvy in 1948 and changed its name to Ogilvy & Mather (O&M) in 1953. For convenience, both entities are referred to as O&M in this guide.
David B. McCall Papers, 1939-1999 and undated, bulk 1980-1994
David B. McCall was an advertising executive at several agencies. He joined O&M as a copywriter in 1951 and eventually became copy chief and then Senior Vice President and Director before leaving in 1962. Materials related to his tenure at the agency are primarily concentrated in box 1 (Ogilvy & Mather Series) and box PF1 (Portfolio Series). Spanning 1958 to 1992, the O&M Series contains correspondence and articles pertaining to the agency, profiles and tributes to agency founder David Ogilvy, and correspondence between Ogilvy and McCall. O&M clients represented in McCall’s portfolio scrapbooks include Calvert Distillers, Chase National Bank, Jaguar, KLM Airlines, Lord & Taylor, Lever Brothers, Pepperidge Farms, Phillip Morris, Sears, Schweppes, Tetley Tea, Thom McCann, True Magazine, and Zippo.
Jock Elliott Papers, 1945-2005 and undated, bulk 1961-1982
John Jock Elliott was an executive with O&M from 1960-1982 and served as both Chairman of O&M U.S. and O&M International. The collection primarily consists of appointment books, correspondence, corporate annual reports, programs, speeches and photographs related to company meetings and events. Clients represented in the collection include Shell Oil, Du Pont Men's Wear, and Trans World Airlines (TWA). Topics include particular accounts, overseas branches, Securities Exchange Commission transgressions, the profit sharing plan, the merger with Mather & Crowther, a potential merger with Wunderman, Ricotta & Kline, the advisability of cigarette advertising campaigns, and reports on hiring practices regarding women and minorities.
Kenneth Roman Papers, 1923-2007 and undated
Ken Roman was with O&M from 1963 to 1989 and served as Chairman/CEO from 1985 to 1989. His papers primarily consist of materials gathered while writing The King of Madison Avenue, a 2009 biography of David Ogilvy. Materials include books, articles, photographs, and Roman’s notes for each chapter. Also included are CDs, VHS tapes, and audiocassettes of interviews with printed transcriptions. Original audiovisual materials are closed to patron use. Technical Services staff may need to produce use copies before contents can be accessed. Please contact Research Services staff before coming to use these materials. The collection also contains a binder of Roman’s speeches as Chairman/CEO of O&M.
William E. Phillips Papers, 1969-2001
William E. Phillips was an executive and chairman of O&M and Ogilvy Group advertising agencies. Spanning 1969 to 2001, this small collection contains annual reports, issues of Viewpoint, and sixteen writings and speeches from Phillips’s career with O&M. Although these materials cover a range of themes, they mostly concern improving client-agency relations, agency creativity and productivity, and community involvement. See the finding aid for a detailed list of titles.
Joel Raphaelson Papers, 1950-2000
Joel Raphaelson served as Executive Creative Director of O&M Worldwide and was a permanent member of the Creative Council. Spanning the 1950s to 2000, the collection contains annual reports, meeting minutes, speeches, presentations, correspondence, and audiovisual and printed material from Raphaelson’s career at O&M. Also included are various publications and presentations about effective business writing. Clients represented in the collection include Dove, Rums of Puerto Rico, and Radio Freak. Highlights include correspondence with David Ogilvy and Jock Elliot and a report on the first five years of O&M Chicago. This collection is unprocessed.
Anthony Weir Papers, 1954-2006 and undated
Anthony Weir worked at O&M from 1962 to 1986. He started and managed several offices in Latin America before becoming the Managing Director of Euramerica International, a division of O&M Worldwide. Papers produced during his time at O&M consist of memoranda, brochures, presentations, clippings, advertising copy, and color slides of advertising commercials shot for various clients. Clients include Lever Brothers, General Foods, Hertz, Sears, Owens-Corning, American Express, Sears, and Schweppes. The collection also contains correspondence, clippings, brochures, memoranda, and advertising copy from the files of Jane Maas, Weir's colleague at Ogilvy from 1967-1973.
J. Walter Thompson Company. Edgar Hatcher Papers, 1952-1992
Edgar Hatcher worked as Creative Supervisor at O&M from 1960 to 1966 and primarily worked on the Shell Oil and Maxim Freeze Dried Coffee accounts. Client-related materials include print advertisements, reports, memoranda, scripts, storyboards, collateral literature, rough drafts, notes, and photographs. Also of interest are two items in the Miscellaneous Series: a 1962 report on O&M’s copy research methods and correspondence with David Ogilvy from the early 1990s regarding a speech Ogilvy gave to the AAAA.
Robert S. Smith Papers, 1947-1982 and undated
Robert S. Smith worked as an art director for a number of advertising agencies, including O&M. The materials, which are not sorted by agency, consist primarily of sketches, paintings, photographs, contact sheets, advertising layouts, proofs, storyboards for television commercials, and house advertisements for O&M. Known O&M clients include General Foods (Maxim coffee, Gaines dog food). Other clients include Consolidated Cigar (El Producto and La Palina brands), Diageo (Gilbey's liquors), DuBonnet, IBM, Maidenform, Mars, Nabisco, Rand McNally, Ronson, Schenley Distillers (Melrose liquors), and Toro.
The Hartman Center also holds the Irving Sonn Papers, an executive at O&M from 1963-1965, and the Stephen Harty Papers, an account manager at O&M from c. 1980-1992. However, neither collection contains materials relating to O&M.
John E. Brennan Outdoor Advertising Survey Reports, 1947-1980
O&M’s advertisements are well-represented in this collection of Brennan’s outdoor advertising survey reports. These surveys primarily tested whether participants remembered seeing the advertisement or whether they could identify the product. The agency name is noted on the survey report for each advertisement up until about 1963. However, the collection is arranged by city rather than by agency.
American Association of Advertising Agencies Records, 1918-1998
The Audiovisual Materials Series of this collection contains several taped interviews with David Ogilvy from 1977. Original videotapes are closed to patron use. Use copies are currently available for some items. Technical Services staff may need to produce use copies before contents can be accessed. Please contact Research Services staff before coming to use the collection.
Arthur Einstein Papers, c. 1990-2001
Box 14 of this unprocessed collection contains agency reels on two VHS tapes created by O&M to present themselves to prospective clients (i.e. "credentials"). Original videotapes are closed to patron use. Technical Services staff may need to produce use copies before contents can be accessed. Please contact Research Services staff before coming to use the collection.
Several other collections contain the results of collaboration with O&M, research on O&M as a competitor, or correspondence with and speeches by David Ogilvy. None contains more than one or two items:
- Kensinger Jones Papers, 1934-2001 and undated
- Charles McKinney Papers, 1952-1993
- John O'Toole Papers, 1954-1990 and undated
- Gene Federico Papers, 1918-2003 and undated, bulk 1951-1991
- Lester Wunderman Papers, 1946-2010 and undated
- Wunderman Archives, 1946-2010 and undated
- J. Walter Thompson Company. Edward G. Wilson Papers, 1906-1991, bulk 1946-1971
- J. Walter Thompson Company. Frankfurt Office. Paul-G. Siebel Papers, 1968-1975, bulk 1969-1975
- J. Walter Thompson Company. Chicago Office. Media Resources and Research Department Records, 1959-2000 and undated
- J. Walter Thompson Company. New York Office. Records, 1978-2000 and undated
- J. Walter Thompson Company. Advertising Vertical Files, 1950-1994
- J. Walter Thompson Company. Chicago Office. Records, 1908-2000 and undated
- J. Walter Thompson Company. W. Lee Preschel Papers, 1964-2001 and undated
- J. Walter Thompson Company. Writings and Speeches, 1912-2000 and undated
- Outdoor Advertising Association of America (OAAA) Archives, 1885-1990s
Autobiographies and Biographies of David Ogilvy
- Blood, Brains & Beer: The Autobiography of David Ogilvy
- Confessions of an Advertising Man, 1963 Antheum edition
- Confessions of an Advertising Man, 1964 Dell edition
- David Ogilvy: An Autobiography
- Ogilvy on Advertising, 1983 Crown edition
- Ogilvy on Advertising, 1985 Vintage edition
- The King of Madison Avenue: David Ogilvy and the Making of Modern Advertising
- The Unpublished David Ogilvy: A selection of his writings from the files of his partners, presented to him on his 75th birthday, June 23, 1986
Ogilvy & Mather Publications
- Advertising Opportunities in Cable Programming
- Does Likeable TV Advertising Help Sell the Product?
- How to Create Advertising that Sells, (excerpts from the complete slide-and-film presentations "Magic lanterns")
- Just When You Thought You Had Enough of Tulsa: A Longitudinal Look at Television in Transition
- OBM, A Celebration: One hundred and twenty-five years in Advertising
- Ogilvy & Mather Network Prime Time Television Programming Guide, 1985-1986
- O & M Pocket Guide to Media, 1970 edition
- O & M Pocket Guide to Media, 1978 edition
- O & M Pocket Guide to Media, 1982 edition
- Trends in travel and tourism advertising expenditures in United States measured media, 1990-1994: A special report for Ogilvy & Mather based on data from Leading National Advertisers, Inc.
- Trends in travel and tourism advertising expenditures in United States measured media, 1987-1991: A special report for Ogilvy & Mather based on data from Leading National Advertisers, Inc.
- Training at Ogilvy & Mather: A Summary of Training Programs and Training Tools
- Viewpoint (serial)
- Zippo Advertising, 1958-1967: A Decade of Keeping at It
Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a
Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.