Staff members have compiled a variety of guides and pathfinders based on topics that may provide helpful direction if you are beginning a research project. Please note that these guides provide highlights, not comprehensive lists. These guides may be found for the following topics:
- Advertising Resource Guides
Detailed collection guides and pathfinders based primarily on materials found in the Hartman Center for Sales, Advertising & Marketing History and the David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library at Duke University.
- African-American Life in the 20th Century
A guide to African and African American Studies holdings at the
David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library, featuring selected collections that were either generated by African Americans or that contain materials directly documenting 20th-century African American experiences.
- American and British Literary Materials
in the
David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library at Duke University.
- The American Revolution
An Overview of the Manuscript Sources in the David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library.
- The Civil War
A Guide to Civil War Materials in the
David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library at Duke University.
- The Economists' Papers Project
An introduction to and information about collections in the Economists' Papers Project, which consists of the papers of more than twenty-five eminent economists. These collections offer a valuable resource to researchers in the history of economic thought, particularly those interested in 20th century economic thought.
- Greek Manuscripts
The Kenneth Willis Clark Collection of Greek Manuscripts in the Duke University Library contains ninety-eight manuscripts — in both roll and codex form — dating from the ninth to the seventeenth century. A short history of the collection, its origins and development, and a short title list of the collection are available here.
- Guido Mazzoni Pamphlet Collection
A detailed guide to this collection of over 49,000 pamphlets, newspapers, clippings, small volumes, librettos, epithalamia, and broadsides. Imprints range from the late sixteenth century to 1943. It is one of the largest private Italian libraries of its kind in the United States.
- Latin American Materials: An Overview
A guide organized into manuscript and printed resources with the manuscripts subdivided further into material relating to South America, the Caribbean, and Central America.
- Religious Materials
A guide to religious materials in the
David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library. The holdings are chiefly in the Christian and Jewish traditions, and feature a strong collection of material in American and British Methodism, with particular depth in Wesleyana.
- Sheet Music
Searchable indices of information about and lyrics of many of the items in the library's sheet music collection. The bulk of the collection is from about 1830 to 1930, most of which were published in the United States, but including a significant number of English, German, and Viennese items as well.
- Slave Letters Bibliography
A Guide to Slave Letters in the David M. Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library at Duke University.
- William Grant Still Collection
The William Grant Still Papers, 1877–1992, contain chiefly photocopies of music, writings, correspondence, diaries, pictures, printed material, clippings, and recordings, which primarily document his work as a composer.
- Women's Studies Resource Guides
Detailed collection guides, pathfinders, and bibliographies on a variety of subjects, based on materials available at Duke University Libraries, but including materials generally available as well.
Also consult the Finding Materials section of this site.