Special Collection Holdings: South America
- Barnsley, Godfrey
Papers, 1824 (1840–1861) 1873. 3,667 items and 1 vol. Savannah, Ga.
Beginning in 1867 there are several letters from two of Barnsley's sons, George, a physician, and Lucien, both of whom went to South America with an emigrant group under the leadership of one McMullen. They shortly severed connections with this group, however. George followed his profession, while Lucien engaged in a number of enterprises, operating in turn a rice mill, apothecary's shop, brick manufactory, and gold mine. Most of this work was at Iguape, Sao Paulo Province, and near Rio de Janeiro, Brazil. The letters contain descriptions of the natives, the countryside, and political, social and economic conditions of the country. The collection also contains a ledger, 1828–1844.
- Edmond, Kate
Papers, 1835–1886; (bulk 1881–1883). 25 items. Teacher, of Selma (Dallas Co.), Ala.
Mostly letters from former student Carrie McCord who moved with her family to Brazil in 1881. The letters discuss Brazilian social life and customs; Catholicism; the cities of Bahia and Rio de Janeiro; floods and landslides in Campos; smallpox in that city in 1882 and 1883; and the visit of the Emperor and Empress to celebrate bringing electricity there.
- Gooden, James
Journals and notebooks, 1810–1811 and n.d. 9 vols. London merchant in Brazil.
Nine handwritten volumes by James Gooden: four journal volumes (1810 Mar.–1811 June) describe Gooden's experiences as he traveled through Brazil meeting with British citizens living in Brazil and Portuguese Brazilians. One volume contains notes on Brazil. The remaining four volumes contain notes on various subjects including Kant, Hume, Velasquez's History of Spanish Poetry, and logic. Notebooks also include notes on British trade with China, Newfoundland, Canada, and Brazil as well as brief notes on history of Brazil and Portugal.
- Hartt, Charles Frederick, 1840–1878.
Papers, 1859–1906. 459 items. Zoologist and geologist.
Correspondence and other papers of Hartt and of his son, Rollin Lynde Hartt, a Congregational minister. Among the material in this collection are letters relating to a trip to Brazil by C. F. Hartt and Louis Agassiz and others, and during two later scientific expeditions to Brazil.
- Hayne, Henry, fl. 1790-1860.
Papers, 1797–1828. 8 items. Secretary to the Amherst Embassy to China, 1816-1817, and British Commissary Judge at Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, ca. 1824-1828.
British civil servant Hayne's first diary, written on a voyage to China, contains about seventy pages recording his stay in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil in March 1816. Includes details about local geography, commerce, the death of Queen Maria I, agriculture, customs, slaves and slavery. In volume V of the diaries, there is additional information about return trips in 1824 and 1828, during the time he was commissary judge at Rio.
- J. Walter Thompson Company Archives
The archives document the development of Latin American markets for this New York-based advertising company, beginning with the opening of the first South American office in 1929. JWT eventually opened offices in many Latin American cities, including Mexico City, Buenos Aires, Quito, Guayaquil, Lima, Bogota, and Caracas. The company's Latin American work is reflected in its collection of international print ads, and supporting documentation such as the James Webb Young Papers, the Shirley Woodell Papers, the E.G. Wilson Papers, and the company newsletters and photographs.
- Latin American and Spanish broadside collection
1626–1939. 139 pieces.
Arranged in folders by country, and within folders chronologically, with any undated items first. Broadsides, single sheet publications, posters and a few pamphlets from Spain (8), South America (10) and the following designated Latin American countries: Peru (84), Brazil (12), Mexico (8), Argentina (9), Cuba (4), Ecuador (2), Guatemala (1) and Chile (1). Many of the Peruvian broadsides are from the Biblioteca Peruana of Francisco Perez de Velasco. The South America folder includes three 1939 programs for shipboard lectures by Duke professor Charles A. Ellwood.
- Illingworth, Stonehewer Edward, 1842–1910.
Journal and letter book, 1871–1872. 1 v. (260 p.).
Director of the British-owned Saint John d'El Rey Mining Company, Ltd.; from Borough Court, Winchfield, Hampshire, England. Journal and letters describing his travels in the Brazilian provinces of Rio Grande do Sul and Minas Gerais, the gas lighting of three major cities in Rio Grande do Sul inaugurated by Messrs. Upward and Illingworth as contractors for the San Pedro Brazilian Gas Company, Ltd., and his inspections of the gold mines of the Saint John d'El Rey Mining Company at Morro Velho and of other gold and diamond mines.
- Lance, John Henry
Album 1805–1938 (bulk 1818–1848); Papers, 1826–[18--] 9 items. Commissary Judge for the Suppression of the Slave Trade in Surinam, 1822–1823.
Album chiefly contains letters to Lance from his family and friends in England. Addition to the collection: six manuscripts and one photograph. Lance made drawings, sketches, and water colors of Surinam scenes, flora, and fauna. Collection also includes official business papers.
- Lander, William Hall, 1903–
Papers, 1920s–1940s. ca. 700 items
Clippings, pictures, paper ephemera, and a few letters concerning Lander's career as UPI foreign correspondent in Brazil, Spain, Cuba, and Mexico, among other.
- Long, Charles Alexander, b. 1881.
Papers, 1892–1970. 8,273 items. Methodist clergyman, missionary, and educator, of Ardmore, Okla.
Personal and family correspondence concerning the work of Long and his wife, Lucy Maie (York) Long, as Methodist missionaries in Brazil (1911–1952), where he was also an official and teacher at Granbery Institute, Juiz de Fora, Minas Gerais, Brazil. Correspondents include Bp. César Dacorso Filho, John Monroe Moore, and Hugh Clarence Tucker in Brazil, and evangelist Davidson Victor York in the U.S.
- Luiggi, Alice (Houston)
Papers, 1866 (1948–1952). 1,514 items. New York, N.Y.
Material gathered by Mrs. Luiggi while writing her book, 65 Valiants (University of Florida Press: 1965), on American teachers in Argentina, 1870–1888. The bulk of the collection consists of letters of various sources about each of the teachers, and notes taken in interviews, and from other sources. There are copies of letters of the 1870s and 1880s by Domingo Faustino Sarmiento and Mary Tyler (Peabody) Mann. The collection is arranged alphabetically by names of teachers. There is information on kindergartens in Boston, Saint Louis, and Washington, D.C.; and the Armstrong, Atkinson, Eccleston, and Stearns families. There are a diary of Sarah Eccleston, 1883–1886; pictures of Mrs. Mann and Sarmiento; and photographs of busts of Horace Mann and Abraham Lincoln.
- Malet Family Papers
1832–1908. 6,186 items and 17 vols. London, England.
Includes the papers of Sir Edward Malet when he was British attaché in Argentina, 1860–1861, and Brazil, 1861–1862. His letters describe social life and culture in Brazil as well as affairs of diplomacy.
- Peruvian Collection
1583–1892. ca. 47 items, 21 volumes.
This collection of heterogeneous material, generally relating to the colonial period of Peru, falls roughly into three groups centering around commerce and industry, literary activity, and religious and social history. Several manuscripts in the first group contain information on the mining of mercury, 1786–1787. Literary materials include the poems of Caviedes in the seventeenth century script useful for correcting errors in the copies published by Ricardo Palma; a copy of iconoclastic and mysterious poems by Antonio de Solís; one cuaderno of the Documentos históricos collected by Manuel de Odriozola; and three Documentos literarios from contemporary publications. Among the Items relating to religion and social history are a compilation of the papers of Peruvian viceroys and others, 1580–1818; an expediente concerning witchcraft and idolatry in Peru; original papers on the modernization of learning which Charles III attempted to impose upon the empire; copy of the proceso of Mariano Tupac Amaru; and a booklet, 1794, describing the founding and development of Quito, Ecuador.
- Peruvian Manuscript Map Collection
1769–1803. 3 items.
Sketch maps of regions primarily in Peru. Each map is titled and the titles are as follows: Plano de la Provinciad Javja, hecho porsu vistador eclesias (1769); Plano de los Cinco Partidos que contiene el govierno e [yntendencia?] de la provincia del puno en el Peru levantado (1803); and Plano de la provincia de los Huamali es Hechoel (1769). Each map primarily represents provinces, villages, churches, and terrain, particularly the Andes Mountains and waterways. The ownership stamp of the Sociedad Geografica de Lima is present on two of the maps. Each map is elaborately drawn in ink and watercolors on paper reinforced with cloth. Scales included on each map. The size of the maps ranges from 27 x 44 cm. to 97 x 65 cm.
- Smith, Emma Juliana (Gray) and John P. George Smith.
Letter book, 1843–1845. 1 v.
Sixty-one letters from Emma Juliana (Gray) Smith and John P. George Smith while on an expedition in Brazil to collect various specimens of animal, insect, and plant life, giving detailed descriptions of their journey to Brazil; their life in Brazil, including housing, food, servants, family life, the English church, and illness; dress and other customs of the various classes of Brazilians, including "the blacks," both slave and free; effects of the English attitude toward slavery in Brazil; expeditions to various parts of Brazil to collect specimens; the collection and preparation of specimens; difficulties of transportation; internal affairs at the British Museum; unrest during elections in Brazil; and celebrations in honor the birth of an heir to Pedro II of Brazil.
- TePaske, John Jay
Papers, 1500s–1988. 9000 Items.
This collection consists of summaries of the fiscal records of the royal treasuries of key regions in colonial Spanish America. Represented in these records are present-day Mexico (New Spain), Peru, Upper Peru (Bolivia), Rio de la Plata (Argentina, Paraguay, and Uruguay), Chile, Ecuador, and Cuba. The scope of the records is broad and comprehensive, offering in most cases virtually complete series of fiscal data for the colonial era, from the sixteenth century through the early decades of the nineteenth century.
Last modified November 12, 2009 11:23:16 AM EST