THE AMERICAN REVOLUTION
An Overview of the Manuscript Sources in the Rare Book,
Manuscript, and Special Collections Library
Duke University



Sir Robert Barrie Papers, 1765-1953. 733 items and 2 vols. Swarthdale, Lancashire, England.

The papers relate to Admiral Barrie's career in the Vancouver expedition, 1791-1795; the French Revolutionary and Napoleonic Wars; the War of 1812; and his service as naval commissioner in Canada, 1819-1834. Included is a small group of material relating to the 31st Regiment of Foot in Florida and Britain during the 1760s and 1770s when the Admiral's father, Dr. Robert Barrie, was surgeon's mate. A selective subject index is filed with the collection.

Bedinger-Dandridge Family Papers, 1763-1957. 12,997 items and 191 vols. Shepherdstown (Jefferson County), W. Va.

There are sustained exchanges of letters with William Hayes Ward, editor of The Brooklyn Independent Washingtons, Kings, Brownes, and Lawrences for the period from the American Revolution to the Civil War. There are also copies of letters and documents from the Lyman C. Draper manuscripts at the University of Wisconsin. Essentially, they are the papers of three brothers, George Michael Bedinger (1756-1843), Henry Bedinger II (1753-1843), and Daniel Bedinger (1761-1818), and their descendents and connections. Among the many subjects discussed are Indian warfare and conditions on the Virginia frontier; descriptions of the events of the Revolution, including the Battle of Brandywine, Sept. 11, 1777; trading in salt and fur; experiences of Americans held prisoner by the British during the Revolution; and extensive comments on politics through 1860, particularly on the opposition to Federalism and the early Democratic-Republican Party.

James Belcher Papers, 1782. 2 items. Savannah, Ga.

Documents concerning the reimbursement of James Belcher, a Loyalist, for losses sustained when the British evacuated Savannah. Included also is one document signed by General Anthony Wayne.

Thomas Burke Papers, 1776, 1782. 2 items. Hillsborough (Orange County), N.C.

A letter from Thomas Burke (ca. 1747-1783) to Richard Henry Lee concerning the movement of Virginia Tories, and a letter from Burke, probably to Edmund Pendleton, complaining of the neglect he has suffered at the hands of the governor of North Carolina.

The Campbell Family Papers, 1731-1969. 8,334 items and 37 vols.

Family, business, and political correspondence of David Campbell (1779-1859), governor of Virginia, 1837-1840, lieutenant colonel in the War of 1812, major general in the state militia west of Blue Ridge mountains; and of William Bowen Campbell (1807-1867), governor of Tennessee, 1847-1848, and member of U.S. Congress, 1837-1843, 1865-1866; and of their families, friends, and political associates.

Robert Campbell Account Book, 1779-1781. 1 vol. (200 pp.) Beaufort (Beaufort County), S.C.

Financial records of a British officer during the American Revolution.

Richard Caswell Papers,1777-1790. 16 items. Fayetteville (Cumberland County), N.C.

Letters and papers concerned with military affairs, the militia, Loyalists, legislative business, and Indian affairs.

Samuel B. Clark Papers, 1764-1890. 174 items and 3 vols. Brotheraville (Richmond County), Ga.

Correspondence of the Clark family and related families in Virginia and Georgia. The early letters from Virginia deal with family matters, social life, farming, commerce, politics, and the Revolution.

Joseph Clay Papers, 1767-1800. 9 items.

Merchant, Revolutionary officer, and member of the Continental Congress; from Savannah, Ga. Legal and business papers of Joseph Clay, Sr., including a volume of depositions made before Clay, as senior assistant judge of Chatham County, Ga., by several mariners from the brigantine Bachelor, commanded by Robert Etherington, concerning charges that the brigantine was supplying aid to British troops at Charleston, S.C.

Samuel Cooper Papers, 1718-1798. 324 items. Boston, Mass.

The items forming this collection are photocopies of papers and letters held principally in the New York Public Library and the Henry E. Huntington Library. The collection contains a number of Cooper's sermons and a portion of his correspondence, almost exclusively from the period of the Revolutionary War, including exchanges of letters with Samuel Adams, Benjamin Franklin, Arthur Lee, John Hancock, and several prominent Frenchmen interested in the American cause. Miscellaneous items include a proclamation from Count d'Estaing urging Frenchmen in the new American states to support the Revolution, 1778, and an essay encouraging the Canadian colonies to join the Revolution, [1780?]. Copies of Cooper's diary cover portions of 1764, 1769, 1775, and 1776.

Isaac Davis Papers, 1782 (1790-1828) 1878. 611 items. Stanardsville (Orange County), Va.

Correspondence of Isaac Davis, Jr., and of his son, Thomas Davis, concerning land in Kentucky, Indian wars and war with Great Britain, 1790-1828; lawsuit of Thomas Davis against Robert Wickliffe; election of James Barbour to the Virginia House of Delegates; Thomas Davis's plantation and purchase of horses; politics; and William Smith, governor of Virginia. Among the correspondents are Robert H. Banks, James Barbour, Isaac Davis, Jr., Thomas Davis, William Fitzhugh Gordon, Enoch Smith, and Robert Wickliffe.

James Dick and Stewart Company Letter Book, 1773-1781. 1 vol. (448 pp.) Annapolis (Anne Arundel County), Md.

Letter book of a mercantile firm trading in agricultural products and manufactured goods with England, Spain, Portugal, the Madeira Islands, and the West Indies. The correspondence is primarily business, giving detailed marketing information on the goods in which the firm dealt and discussing economic conditions before and during the Revolution. The letters reflect the coming of the Revolution, particularly in the description of the burning of a company ship, the Peggy Stewart, and its cargo of tea in 1774 and in the opposing loyalist and patriot sympathies of the two partners.

Henry Dundas, First Viscount Melville, Papers, 1779-1813. 469 items and 1 vol. London, England.

Correspondence and documents of Henry Dundas, First Viscount Melville (1742-1811), Secretary of State for War, 1794-1801, and First Lord of the Admiralty, 1804-1805, concerning the defenses of England and Scotland; recruitment and other matters related to the militia, volunteers, fencibles, and the regular army; and the strength and disposition of British troops, principally land forces, on the continent and in the colonies.

Samuel Elbert Papers, 1769-1788. 43 items.

Personal and legal papers including deeds; certificates for land bounties; an inventory of the estate of Peter Stedler, 1772; and a letter from Leonard Marbury, 1779, discussing the British defeat at Bryan Creek Bridge, Ga. Also an account book kept by Elbert from 1776 to 1788 which includes accounts of the 2nd Battalion of the State of Georgia, 1776-1777, plantation records, and Elbert's personal accounts.

Edmund Fanning Papers, 1796-1808. 11 items. Prince Edward Island, Canada.

Papers of Edmund Fanning (1737-1818), American loyalist, governor of Nova Scotia and of Prince Edward Island, and general in the British Army, pertaining to accounts and vouchers for the garrison of Prince Edward Island Fencibles. Included are references to the Board of Commissioners for Auditing Public Accounts, and personal financial sacrifices during his term of office.

William Few Papers, 1779-1809. 17 items. New York and Georgia.

Letters of William Few (1748-1828), statesman, Revolutionary soldier, and banker, concerning the Creek Indians in Georgia, the location of the national capital, and routine business matters; letters from Benjamin Few concerning militia activities during the Revolutionary War and the Creeks; and a summons, an indenture, and a bill of sale for seventy slaves, of Ignatius Few.

James Fraser Papers, 1779-1789. 1 vol. Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada.

Copies of deeds, affidavits, a bill of sale for Negroes, inventories of real and personal property, and a catalog of books of the property of a Presbyterian clergyman of Hillsborough, North Carolina, who fled as a Loyalist to New Brunswick and later to Halifax during the American Revolution. Fraser's Hillsborough estate, "Hartford," was used by Cornwallis as British headquarters in Hillsborough and later occupied and, according to Fraser, damaged by American troops.

James Gadsden Papers, 1777-1856. 32 items. Charleston, S.C.

Papers of the family of Gadsden (1788-1858), Florida planter, member of legislative council of Florida Territory, and minister to Mexico in 1853. Included are references to British strategy during the Revolutionary War and the defenses of Charleston, 1777.

George Sackville Germain, First Viscount Sackville, Papers, 1779. 2 items. London, England.

Letter to George Sackville Germain, First Viscount Sackville (1716-1785), as British secretary of state for the colonies, from Sir Henry Clinton, then commander of the British forces in the United States, discussing the unsuccessful siege of Savannah by French and American forces, the loss of the British warship Experiment, and the reinforcement of the Bermuda garrison. Accompanying the letter was a list of enclosures, which are not included in the collection.

Gibbons Family Correspondence, 1758-1814. 671 items.

Correspondence of John Gibbons (d.1770), businessman, lawyer, and planter of Charleston, S.C., and Savannah, Ga., and of his family. Includes information on South Carolina shipping and the sale of prizes of war (1776 and after), land speculation and settlement in Georgia, American prisoners of war during the Revolution, Georgia finance, taxation, politics, and government, Federalism in Savannah during the 1790s, and naval action off the Georgia coast during the War of 1812.

William Gibbons, Jr., 1728-1803. 807 items and 1 vol. "Sharon," near Savannah, Ga.

Correspondence of a wealthy rice planter and justice of the peace, William Gibbons, Jr., and his family, including his father, William Gibbons, Sr., and his uncle, Joseph Gibbons. The papers of William Gibbons, Sr., and Joseph Gibbons begin in the 1750s and describe life on some of the early large plantations in Georgia. The letters and papers of William Gibbons, Jr., provide more material on plantation life and the management of slaves and land and also contain bills and receipts for goods sold to American troops during the Revolution.

Great Britain Papers (Military and Naval), 1730-1914. 1,079 items and 1 vol. Great Britain.

A chronological file contains miscellaneous orders, commissions, and letters, including a letter of William Amherst, 1775; a letter, 1866, of General Sir John Fox Burgoyne evaluating the economic prospects of the United States and the "imperialistic" temper of its government; a letter, 1801, of Lord Colville reporting the seizure of American and Danish vessels; a letter of Sir Thomas Fraser (b. 1840); eleven items, 1822-1846, of Thomas Graham, Baron Lynedoch; a letter, 1830, of Rowland Hill, First Viscount Hill; letters, 2 items, 1782, of General Alexander Leslie, reporting from Charleston, South Carolina, and discussing the military conditions in the Southern colonies; a letter from General Charles O'Hara, 1781, from camp near Wilmington, North Carolina, describing the campaigns and the condition of his brigade following the battle of Guilford Courthouse; and a commission of James Reynell. An anonymous volume, 25 pp., late 18th - early 19th centuries, contains exercises and field regulations for infantry. There is also a large amount of routine official correspondence and reports of the quartermaster general's office, requesting routes for military travel within Great Britain, concerning commissary supplies and related matters, and reporting on the quartering of units; and there are routine correspondence and reports of the paymaster general consisting of directives from the treasury, cost estimates, and forms for disbursement of funds.

Nathanael Greene Papers, 1778-1786. 199 items. "Mulberry Grove" (Chatham County), Ga.

Papers of Nathanael Greene (1742-1786), Revolutionary War general, include reports, requisitions, and correspondence pertaining to the quartermaster department of the Continental Army while Greene was quartermaster general, 1778-1780; papers concerning the war in South Carolina and Georgia during Greene's term as commander of the troops in the Southern states, 1780-1783, covering matters such as the battles at Ninety Six, South Carolina, and Augusta, Georgia, conflicts between civilian and military authorities, problems over the relationship of the militia, the state troops and the Continental Army, supplies, and the sustaining of the military effort after the surrender at Yorktown; and papers, 1783-1786, pertaining to Greene's business affairs and to the relationship of Georgia to the British and Spanish inhabitants of Florida.

George Handley Papers, 1783-1788. 8 items. Augusta (Richmond County), Ga.

Letters and papers of George Handley, soldier in the American Revolution and governor of Georgia, concerning routine military matters; letter from General Elijah Clark, 1788, requesting state troops for Franklin County, Georgia, to protect people while gathering their crops; and extracts from the minutes of meetings of the Executive Council of Georgia, 1785.

William Heath and Joseph Curtis Papers, 1725-1864. 18 items. Roxbury (Suffolk County), Mass.

Papers of William Heath, general in the Continental Army during the American Revolution, and of Joseph Curtis, large landowner in Roxbury, related by marriage. Heath papers include a record of water rights obtained by William Heath's father or grandfather, copy of a letter to Heath by George Washington discussing U.S. relations with France, copy of Heath's will, and items relating to property owned by Heath's daughter, Sarah (Heath) Gardner. Curtis papers are concerned mainly with the disposition of his estate, including two land indentures and his will.

Patrick Henry Papers. 11 items.

Patriot and statesman, from Hanover Co., Va. Miscellaneous papers including commissions; land grants; a letter from David Mason discussing the progress of his march to South Carolina and the men and supplies under his command; a circular letter to the members of the Pittsylvania County (Va.) county court, concerning the administration of taxes and pensions in Virginia; a printed letter from Henry (1736-1799) listing the duties of a lieutenant in raising and provisioning his troops; a clipping comparing Henry and Thomas Jefferson; and a clipping, 1897, describing Henry's burial place and relics of Henry's that were owned by his grandson, William Wirt Henry.

James Hollyday Papers, 1768-1786. 25 items. Chestertown (Kent County), Md.

Papers relating to a legal dispute between James Chalmers and George Rome involving land confiscated by the state of Maryland during the American Revolution.

John Hook Papers, 1737 (1770-1848) 1889. 7,389 items and 103 vols. Hale's Ford (Franklin County), Va.

Letters, papers, and mercantile records of John Hook (1745-1808), wealthy Scottish merchant and Tory; of the mercantile firm of Bowker Preston, Hook's son-in-law, and Smithson H. Davis at Goose Creek, Bedford County, Virginia; and of a similar firm of Asa, Smithson H., and Alexander G. Holland and John D. Booth at Haleeford and Germantown, both in Franklin County, the Holland family apparently being connected with the Hook family by marriage. The majority of these papers are business records. Others relate to sequestration proceedings brought against him by David Ross, his partner in business from 1771 until after the Revolution. Other letters discuss the Revolutionary War, fugitive slaves, and prominent political figures. Included also are papers concerning Hook's troubles with the Bedford County Committee of Safety, and two letter books. The papers connected with the Committee of Safety consist of a summons, a rough draft of Hook's reply, his discharge from jail, his oath of allegiance, and others of a similar nature, all bearing on an accusation that Hook had disseminated pamphlets antagonistic to the American cause.

William Churchill Houston Papers, 1779. 1 item. Princeton (Mercer County), N.J.

Letter from W. C. Houston (1746-1788), professor of mathematics and natural philosophy at the College of New Jersey, to James Ewing about raising troops, supplies, and money for the Revolutionary forces.

Richard Hutson Papers, 1776. 2 items. Charleston, S.C.

Copies of letters of Richard Hutson (1748-1795), lawyer and Revolutionary patriot, describing the arrival of the British fleet at the Charleston bar, the British attack, the bombardment of Sullivan's Island, the American defense, and the repulse of the British troops.

James Iredell, Sr., and James Iredell, Jr., Papers, 1724-1890. 1,046 items and 6 vols. Edenton (Chowan County), N. C.

Family, personal, political, public, and legal papers of James Iredell, Sr. (1751-1799), statesman and associate justice of the U.S. Supreme Court; of his wife, Hannah (Johnston) Iredell; and of their son, James Iredell, Jr. (1788-1853), governor of North Carolina, 1827, U.S. senator, 1828-1831, and attorney. The papers of James Iredell, Sr., concern the Revolutionary War, state and national politics, his duties as Supreme Court justice, and family matters. Included are letters discussing independence versus loyalty to Great Britain; British colonial policy; the operation of the war, both militarily and politically; state financial difficulties; peace treaty with Great Britain; various political pamphlets published 1783-1784; North Carolina politics; formulation and ratification of the Constitution; Federalists versus AntiFederalists in North Carolina; amendments to the Constitution; funding of the national debt and assumption of the state debt; cession of western lands to the Federal government; relations between Great Britain and the United States; the regulation of the slave trade; the establishment of the University of North Carolina; Iredell's duties as Supreme Court Justice and his assignment to the Southern circuit; U.S. negotiations with the Creek Indians; the Whiskey Rebellion; yellow fever epidemics in Philadelphia, 1793 and 1797-1798; the presidential campaign of 1796; and disunionist sentiment in Virginia, 1799. There is also correspondence from friends and relatives in England and Ireland, especially from his cousin Margaret Macartney giving accounts of her travels in England and Ireland in the 1770s, and from Henry Eustace McCulloh, a relative of Iredell and large landholder in North Carolina, concerning people and events in North Carolina, and on McCulloh's efforts to obtain titles to his North Carolina lands and the unfair character of the Confiscation Act.

Other papers include bills and receipts; legal notes and reports of James Iredell, Sr., and James Iredell, Jr. land deeds and indentures; commissions of office; drafts of political pamphlets of James Iredell, Sr., including an address to George III giving reasons why Iredell and other British-born Americans feel compelled to renounce their allegiance to the crown, and a letter "To The Public" upholding the right of judicial review.

Ralph Izard Papers, 1775-1821. 5 items. Charleston, S.C.

Papers of Ralph Izard (1742-1804), delegate to the Continental Congress, 1782-1783, and U.S. senator from South Carolina, 1789-1795, include a letter, 1775, from Izard to Arthur Lee describing affairs in the colonies and Sir James Wright, governor of Georgia; a letter concerning payment of a debt of his son, George Izard; and a testimonial letter of Governor William Moultrie and two certificates proving that Izard was a member of the South Carolina legislature at the time his property was sold during the American Revolution as British property.

John Jeremiah Jacob Papers, 1780-1813. 3 items. Cumberland (Allegany County), Md.

Papers of John Jacob include a letter by him from Hillsborough, North Carolina, describing a battle with the British during the Revolutionary War.

Thomas Stinson Jarvis Papers, 1905. 1 item. This 95-page typescript document recounts the memoirs of Colonel Stephen Jarvis for the years 1775-1828. Jarvis was a Loyalist who fought in the American Revolution and afterwards fled to Canada. He mentions a battle against Indians in New England in 1778, as well as Native American smugglers and guides in upper state New York and Canada.

Charles Colcock Jones, Jr., Papers, 1763-1926. 850 items and 67 vols. Savannah, Ga.

Includes items pertaining to the 1st Regiment of Chatham County (Georgia) Militia during the American Revolution and after.

John Jones Papers, 1778-1870. 5 items. Griffin (Spalding County), Ga.

Miscellaneous letters and business accounts of the large importing firm of John Jones and Company of Georgia and South Carolina in the time of the American Revolution.

Ephraim Kirby Papers, 1763 (1780-1804) 1878. 2,899 items and 1 vol. Litchfield (Litchfield County), Conn.

The papers of Ephraim Kirby (1757-1804), Revolutionary soldier, lawyer, state legislator, and land speculator, consist of correspondence, broadsides, legal papers, bills and receipts pertaining to the Revolutionary War, early settlements west of the Alleghenies and Alabama, land speculation, internal improvements, and politics. Revolutionary War letters describe life in the Continental Army, morale, equipment and confusion in the quartermaster department, military engagements including the battle of Germantown and the surrender of Cornwallis, and the conduct of General Oliver Wolcott. Political correspondence concerns the government of the United States under the Articles of Confederation, the ratification of the Constitution, foreign relations with Great Britain especially involving the British-held western posts and a commercial treaty, the Citizen Genet affair, James Madison's resolutions regarding trade and navigation, proposal to arm frigates against Algiers, Jay's Treaty, Whiskey Rebellion, the need for taxation for revenue, the presidential campaigns of 1796 and 1800, and the use of political patronage.

Robert Lawson Papers, 1776-1825 (bulk 1781). 40 items. Richmond, Va.

Correspondence and papers of Robert Lawson (d. ca. 1802), brigadier general of the Virginia Militia during the American Revolution. Chiefly letters to Lawson concerning the raising, reenforcement, and movement of troops in Virginia and North Carolina in 1781. Several concern Lawson's possible reenforcement of Nathaniel Greene's troops. Correspondents include Thomas Jefferson, Baron Von Steuben, John P. Muhlenberg, and Richard Henry Lee. Also an account book (1776, Sept.-Dec.) relating to Lawson's service with the 4th Virginia Battalion., military commissions, letters of introduction (1787) for Lawson from George Mason and Henry Lee to Pierce Butler, Charles Pinckney, and William Few.

Benjamin Lincoln Papers, 1778-1804. 13 items. Hingham (Plymouth County), Mass.

Papers, largely letters and reports to Lincoln, relating to his command of American troops in the Southern Department during the Revolutionary War. Writers include John Houstoun on the fall of Savannah, December 29, 1778; Andrew Williamson on funds for pay of the Georgia militia and a proposed truce in northern and central Georgia, April 9, 1779; Casimir Pulaski on British troop movements around Charleston, May 15, 1779; Lincoln on disposition of the spoils of war, Sept. 23, 1779; John Wereat on civil government in Georgia, August 18, 1779; Count d'Estaing on plans for the siege of Savannah, September 14, 1779; Lachlan McIntosh on political divisions among Georgia troops, December 11, 1779; Francis Marion on the military situation 'in Savannah, January 31, 1780; Andrew Williamson on Spanish activities at Pensacola and Mobile, 1780; and John Rutledge on the locations of troops defending South Carolina, ApriI 25, 1780. There is one certificate, 1804, signed by Lincoln as collector of the Port of Boston. The library also holds microfilm, 13 reels and index, of Benjamin Lincoln papers owned by the Massachusetts Historical Society.

Louis Manigault Papers, 1776 (1840-1878) 1883. 2,038 items and 4 vols. Charleston, S.C.

Papers of Louis Manigault and the Manigault family contain a few letters of Joseph Manigault, loyalist living in England during the American Revolution, to his father in America describing his activities and the difficulties of his position, letters, 1802-1808, to Gabriel Manigault from the children of Ralph Izard, his father-in-law, commenting on a drought in Virginia, 1806, criticizing the people of the South Carolina up-country, 1808, and discussing the effect of the embargo on Charleston, 1809, and letters, 1808-1824, from Margaret (Izard) Manigault to her family concerning family affairs and describing the life of the upper class in Charleston, South Carolina, and Philadelphia, Pennsylvania.

John Lawrence Manning Papers, 1778-1864. 23 items. Sumter (Sumter County), S.C.

Miscellaneous papers including letters from George Washington, Lafayette, Charles Cotesworth Pinckney, and P. G. T. Beauregard; a memorandum of articles taken by the British from John Chesnut during the American Revolution; a letter, 1854, to Manning from Lemuel Blake concerning a textbook on the United States Constitution; and a letter from Benjamin Harris Brewster of Philadelphia discussing Democratic politics in Pennsylvania and the state delegation to the forthcoming Charleston convention.

Henry McCulloh Papers, 1745-1763. 3 items and 3 vols. London, England.

The papers of Henry McCulloh (ca. 1700-ca. 1779) consist of a deed, 1745, granting land in North Carolina to McCulloh, with notes on the back relating to the payment of quitrents and forfeiture of the land some twenty years later; a copy of the proposed stamp duties on the American colonies as formulated by Mcculloh; copies of minutes of a conference with McCulloh concerning the stamp duties; and three essays. One essay relates to his service from 1739 to 1745 as Inspector for Improving the Quit Rents for North and South Carolina, and contains general proposals and complaints concerning the inefficiency of colonial administration, and pleas for his salary. A Miscellaneous Essay with Respect to Our Great Boards, to the Exchequer and to America (1762) proposes and discusses various administrative reforms for the British government, including colonial administration. McCulloh discusses the theory and practice of the royal government and reviews its organization since the reign of Queen Elizabeth I in "A Treatise Endeavouring to Demonstrate That Let Who Will Be Entrusted with the Direction or Management of Our Publick Concerns, They Will Be Liable to an Infinite Number of Misstakes and Inadvertencies in the Whole of Their Conduct Unless They Restore the Ancient System of Our Publick Boards, On the Doing of Which the Dignity and Safety of This Crown and Kingdom, Seem in a Great Measure to Depend."

John Montagu, Fourth Earl of Sandwich, Papers, 1775. 1 item. "Hinchingbrook," Huntingdonshire, England.

A letter by Montagu (1718-1792), First Lord of the Admiralty, December 30, 1775, analyzing the military situation in America and blaming British losses on a refusal to use force rather than conciliatory measures.

North Carolina State Papers, 1788-1789. 31 items.

Manuscripts concern the ratification of the Constitution of the United States by the State of North Carolina. These include 26 oversized items, the original petitions from a number of North Carolina counties stating reasons for ratification, the chief of which appear to be weariness of anarchy and miserable misgovernment, the fact that eleven states had accepted the new plan, and the desire to participate in the benefits derived from union.

Andrew Pickens Papers, 1781, 1803. 2 items. Pendleton (Anderson County), S.C.

A letter of 1781 concerning supplies for South Carolina troops commanded by Pickens during the American Revolution; and a letter of 1803 from Virgil Maxcy concerning personal affairs and praising the town of Beaufort, South Carolina.

William Pitt Papers, 1762-1884. 100 items. "Hollwood," Hayes, County Kent, England.

Correspondence largely of William Pitt (1759-1806), British statesman and prime minister, second son of William Pitt (1708-1778), First Earl of Chatham. Topics include foreign affairs; elections; tithes; the careers in government and politics of William Pitt and his brother John; the War of the American Revolution; the illness of George III; the wars of the French Revolution; the views of Hugues Maret concerning French-English relations, 1792; parliamentary affairs; and the supply of corn in England, 1795. Letters from Pitt and members of his family are chiefly to Sir James Bland Burges, under secretary of state in the foreign department; James Grenville, brother of Lady Chatham, and Grenville's son, Baron Glastonbury; George Rose, secretary of the treasury; Granville Leveson-Gower, First Marquis of Stafford, Lord Privy Seal; the Earl of Westmorland. Other authors include William Pitt (1708-1778), First Earl of Chatham; Richard Howe, First Lord of the Admiralty; John Pitt, Second Earl of Chatham; James Charles Pitt; Robert Smith, First Baron Carrington; and Arthur Philip Stanhope, Sixth Earl Stanhope.

William Potts and William Potts II Papers, 1720 (1760-1830, 1880-1882) 1925. 404 items. Frederick (Frederick County), Md.

Papers of William Potts and William Potts II, their associates, family, and friends concern personal and family matters; and opinions about the relations between Great Britain and her American colonies in the 1760s a mercantile business in Baltimore in the 1770s.

Purviance Family Papers, 1757 (1776-1920) 1932. 2,344 items and 21 vols. Baltimore, Md.

Professional and family correspondence and papers of two generations of the Purviance family and several generations of the Courtenay family. The early papers relate chiefly to Samuel Purviance (d. 1787), Baltimore merchant, and chairman of the Committee of Observation for Baltimore County, and consist of records of the interrogation of Purviance by the Council of Safety for the failure of a plan by the Committee of Observation to capture Maryland governor Robert Eden; and correspondence discussing British depredations on American shipping, the extension of the Mason-Dixon line. Items of a more personal nature include papers relating to the financial affairs of his sister, Elizabeth Isabella Purviance, and the claims of her guardian, David Stewart, against the British government for capture of his vessels; and a commonplace book, 1781, containing extracts from a tour through Great Britain. Volumes include a mercantile ledger, 1781-1816, of Hercules Courtenay containing accounts of food products, tar, rum, ginseng, ships and shipping ventures, and insurance; and a list of American vessels destroyed by the British.

Jacob Read Papers, 1778-1821. 36 items. Charleston, S.C.

The papers of Jacob Read (1752-1816), brigadier general in the South Carolina militia, U.S. senator, 1795-1801, and Revolutionary patriot, consist of a deposition, signed by Read in 1790, concerning the ownership of a slave in possession of Richard Cureton, who refused to deliver him to Read's representative, George Dykes; commission of dower, 1794, to Ann Lord, widow of Andrew Lord; a letter from J. Alison, regarding a falsely reported uprising among the Negroes, 1797; a letter from J. Dickinson, regarding orders for the review of the brigade, 1806; a letter from Paul Hamilton, mentioning a commission for one Captain Rouark; comments on Alexander Gillon; and numerous letters concerning the business of Peter Hasenclever, Prussian iron manufacturer, who was involved in extensive litigation in the United States with Read as his attorney.

Enos Reeves Papers, 1780-1781. 3 vols. Charleston, S.C.

The papers of Enos Reeves, soldier in the Revolutionary War, contain three volumes forming a portion of a journal kept in letter form. Subjects of comment in the journals include George Washington's reviewing and entertaining Indian chiefs in New Jersey; the French Army stationed at Newport, Rhode Island; the Benedict Arnold affair; the battles of King's Mountain, North Carolina, and Yorktown, Virginia; problems of discipline in the Continental Army; troop movements; social affairs; counterfeiting and the depreciation of the currency; and service in North Carolina. [This material has been published in the Pennsylvania Magazine of History and Biography, vols. 20-21 (1896-1897).]

John Rutherfoord Papers, 1754 (1781-1865) 1931. 2,712 items and 33 vols. Richmond, Va.

Family, business, personal, and political correspondence of John Rutherfoord (1792-1866), lawyer, merchant, and governor of Virginia, 1841-1842; of his son, John Coles Rutherfoord (1825-1866), lawyer, planter, and member of the House of Delegates; of Ann Seddon (Roy) Rutherfoord (1832-1906?), wife of John Coles Rutherfoord; and of Thomas Rutherfoord (1766-1852), father of John Rutherfoord, and Richmond merchant. Early papers are those of Isaac Holmes, assistant quartermaster at Petersburg, Virginia, chiefly from Richard Claiborne concerning provisions for Revolutionary soldiers; and of James Webb, apparently a lawyer of Smithfield, Virginia, having connections with John Marshall, Spencer Roane, and John Wickham, consisting of legal correspondence and papers. The papers of Thomas Rutherfoord include a letter, 1810, expressing objections to the embargo and an article, 1812, on the necessity of a navy to protect the maritime rights of the United States.

John Sevier Papers, 1778-1812. 7 items. Knoxville (Knox County), Tenn.

Papers of John Sevier (1745-1815), officer during the American Revolution and first governor of Tennessee, including a letter, 1787, from Richard Caswell, governor of North Carolina, concerning their land speculation in Tennessee, trials for fraud in the purchase of army supplies, a copy of a memorial sent in 1812 to the North Carolina legislature by Sevier and Isaac Shelby, first governor of Kentucky, requesting that the Assembly honor its commitment to grant the two men the sword and pistols that it had voted them for their services in the battle of King's Mountain, and the reply from John Steele; and routine papers concerning legal matters.

William Smallwood Letters, 1780. 2 items.

Collection consists of letters from Smallwood (1732-1792), U.S. major general in the Revolutionary War, relating to the need for food and supplies for his troops, then on duty in N.C.; and describing the strength of the Tories in western N.C.

Samuel Stirk Papers, 1782-1784. 3 items. Savannah, Ga.

Papers of Samuel Stirk, attorney general for Georgia in 1782, pertaining to business and legal questions arising from the presence of Loyalists in Savannah. Included are documents dealing with the terms given British merchants by General Anthony Wayne and the Georgia assembly on the evacuation of the British forces from Savannah.

Edward Telfair Papers, 1764 (1771-1807) 1831. 906 items and 5 vols. Savannah, Ga.

Papers of Edward Telfair, governor of Georgia and delegate to the Continental Congress, concern various legal matters including transfer of property, settlement of estates, and recovery of property seized by the British in the Revolution; business affairs, including letters relating to the British market for tobacco and indigo, and correspondence with a British merchant about the marketing of rice; politics and the political situation after the election of 1800. Volumes in the collection include a receipt book, 1764-1782; a letter book, 1769-1770, containing business correspondence with a London merchant; a daybook, 1775-1781, of Edward Telfair and Company; and a daybook, 1775-1782, and ledger, 1773-1793, of the firm of Cowper and Telfair.

Charles Thomson Papers, 1779-1788. 5 items. Philadelphia, Pa.

Miscellaneous documents signed by Charles Thomson (1729-1824), secretary of the Continental Congress. Included is an extract from the minutes of the Congress, resolutions, and other documents respecting each state's quota of money to be paid into the treasury; reorganization of the commissary department of the army; South Carolina and Georgia territorial claims; and a letter from Thomas McKean accepting an appointment to serve on a court convened to hear a question between the states of South Carolina and Georgia.

John Twiggs Papers, 1781-1786. 5 items. Richmond County, Ga.

Papers of John Twiggs, officer in the American Revolution and Indian fighter, include a letter, 1781, to Twiggs from James Jackson concerning an attack on the British near Ogeechee, Georgia; a letter from Twigg to a merchant relating to clothing for his slaves; and a letter, 1786, to Twigg from Jared Irwin, asking for help against the Creek Indians along the Oconee River.

William Tyler Papers, 1799. 5 items. Augusta (Richmond County), Ga.

Correspondence of William Tyler, probably a British merchant in America, commenting on trade, transportation, and Loyalist property in Georgia.

Peter Van Gaasbeck Papers, 1794. 1 item. Kingston (Ulster County), N.Y.

Letter to Peter Van Gaasbeck, merchant, officer in the American Revolution, and member of the United States House of Representatives, from Jonathan Lawrence, concerning a pension.

George Walton Papers, 1775-1814. 40 items. Augusta (Richmond County), Ga.

Miscellaneous papers of George Walton (1741-1804), lawyer, delegate to the Continental Congress, 1776-1781, governor of Georgia, 1779 and 1789, chief justice of the Georgia Supreme Court, 1783-1786 and 1793, and U. S. senator, 1795-1796. A copy of a treatise, 1781, signed by Walton, William Few, Jr., and Richard Howley, favors the maintenance of close ties between the northern colonies and South Carolina and Georgia, then controlled by the British, and emphasizes the strategic and economic importance of the southern colonies to an independent American confederation. a proclamation issued by Walton requiring state officials to take the oath of allegiance to the U. S. Constitution; two letters, 1789, from George Washington, one transmitting acts for establishing the U. S. Treasury Department and the taking of a census, and one enclosing the proclamation of a general day of thanksgiving; a letter, 1789, from Henry Knox requesting information concerning veterans in Georgia eligible for government pensions; and a document, 1790, listing the proceedings and practices to be followed by the superior courts in Georgia; a letter, 1790, from Thomas Jefferson sending copies of acts authorizing the first census, revising the naturalization laws, and appropriating government funds for 1790.

John Williams Papers, 1775-1824. 17 items. Granville County, N.C.

Papers of John Williams, colonel in the North Carolina militia during the American Revolution, relating chiefly to the Transylvania Company and to the Revolution. Included are letters from William Johnston discussing the procurement of powder and provisions for the colonial troops in 1775, and the election of his brother, Richard Henderson, and Williams to represent the area at the Continental Congress; and a letter, 1776, from Bromfield Ridley pertaining to the raising of troops in North Carolina and the plan to prevent the Tories from joining the British governor in the state.

William Augustine Washington Papers, 1775-1914. 15 items. "Haywood," Westmoreland County, Va.

Papers of William Augustine Washington consisting of receipts and correspondence concerning real estate transactions and other business matters; account of Dr. Thomas Thomson with Washington for medical services rendered, 1787-1793; and a printed letter, 1775, from Patrick Henry to John Augustine Washington, father of William Augustine Washington's wife, Jane, encouraging patrols to prevent slaves from defecting to the British.

John Wereat Papers, 1779-1798. 10 items. Savannah, Ga.

Letters of John Wereat, governor of Georgia and member of the first provincial congress of Georgia, concern the release of an imprisoned Loyalist, 1779; the ratification of the Federal Constitution by the Georgia convention in 1788; and the sale of western lands in Georgia, 1794.

Sir James Wright Papers, 1756-1781. 18 items. Savannah, Ga.

Papers of Sir James Wright, royal governor of Georgia, contain official papers, relating mainly to the settlement of estates. Also contains an address to Wright by loyalists in Georgia concerning the activities of Georgia patriots.

Robert Yates Papers, 1776. 1 item. Albany (Albany County), N.Y.

Facsimile of orders from Robert Yates (1738-1801), lawyer, judge, and Revolutionary patriot, to New York recruiting officers of the Continental Army.

John Joachim Zubly Papers, 1773-1777. 4 items. Savannah, Ga.

Papers of John Joachim Zubly (1725-1781), Presbyterian minister and Georgia Tory, include a letter from a committee concerning the uniting of the American colonies to preserve their liberties; letters dealing with legal matters; and a land indenture.


For information about how to use these collections or questions about these or other collections, please see our main web site or contact a reference librarian.



Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library, Duke University
Compiled by Elizabeth Dunn, January 2001
http://scriptorium.lib.duke.edu/pathfinders/american-revolution/