in the Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library
Duke University
|
A Guide to Civil War Materials in the Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library Duke University |
|
The following sources are located in the Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special
Collections Library.
They are available for use in the Research Room only. However, remote users
can search these
titles in their own libraries or place interlibrary loan requests with local
librarians. The
asterisk in front of the call number indicates the work is also in
Perkins Library. This
is not a comprehensive Civil War reference source list, but represents some
of the
resources available in this library, a few of which may be difficult to
locate elsewhere.
|
Spec Coll Ref
973.74 qB335 1887 |
Battles and Leaders of the Civil War in four volumes with an index in volume 4, New York, Century Company, 1884-1887 |
|
Biblio B662C or Spec Coll Ref 973.703 B662C (1959 edition) |
Boatner, Mark Mayo. The Civil War Dictionary, New York, NY, McKay, 1988 |
| *Biblio P261C | Confederate Imprints: A Bibliography of Southern Publication from Secession to Surrender by T. Michael Parris & Robert M. Willingham, Jr., Austin, Texas, G. A. Foster, 1987?] |
|
Spec Coll Ref
973.742 W952 G326 1904 |
Confederate States of America. Army.
General Officers of the Confederate Army. List of Those Killed in Battle; List of Those Who Died of Wounds Received; Those Who Died During and Since War And Those Now Living. [n.p., n.p., n.d.] |
|
C-9
C748TC v.1-3 |
Confederate States of America. Dept. of the Treasury.
Correspondence of the Treasury Department of the Confederate States of America, 1861-�56? Washington, n.p., 1879-1880 |
|
C-9
C748TRP |
Confederate States of America. Dept. of the Treasury.
Reports of the Secretary of the Treasury of the Confederate States of America, 1861-�56. Washington, 1878 |
|
C-9
C748WLA and Spec Coll Ref 973.742 C748 L773 1860 |
Confederate States of America. War Dept.
List of Artillery Officers, C.S.A. [Richmond? 186-] |
|
E-15B
C748V |
Confederate Veteran [serial] Nashville, Tenn. [S.A. Cunningham, 1893-1932]. |
|
Biblio
qC748 |
Cumulative Index, the Confederate Veteran Magazine, 1893-1932, Wilmington, N.C., Broadfoot Pub. Co., 1986 |
|
*Spec Coll Ref
973.7456 M266N |
Manarin, Louis H. North Carolina Troops, 1861-1865; A Roster, State Department of Archives and History, 1966- |
|
Spec Coll Ref
973.75 fU58AB |
Official Atlas of the Civil War Introduction by Henry Steele Commager. New York, Thomas Yoseloff, 1958 |
|
*Spec Coll Ref
973.75 U58O |
Official Records of the Union and Confederate Navies in the War of the Rebellion [serial] Washington, G.P.O., 1894-1922 |
|
Spec Coll Ref
015.75 H925S |
Southeastern Broadsides Before 1877: A Bibliography Edited by Ray O. Hummel, Richmond, Virginia State Library, 1971 |
|
C-9
C748TRG |
United States. Dept. of the Treasury.
Register of Issues of Confederate State Treasury Notes, Together with Tabular Exhibits of the Debt? Washington, 1880 |
|
*Spec Coll Ref
973.742 U58L |
United States. War Dept.
List of Staff Officers of the Confederate States Army, 1861-1865. Washington, G.P.O., 1891 |
|
*Spec Coll Ref
973.75 U58A |
War of the Rebellion: A Compilation of the Official Records of the Union and Confederate Armies, Washington, G.P.O., 1880-1901 |
|
*Spec Coll Ref
923.573 W281GE |
Warner, Ezra J. Generals in Blue; Lives of the Union Commanders, [Baton Rouge] Louisiana State University Press [1964] |
|
*Spec Coll Ref
973.742 W281 G326 1959 |
Warner, Ezra J. Generals in Gray: Lives of the Confederate Commanders, [Baton Rouge] Louisiana State University Press [1959] |
Guide to Civil War Materials
http://scriptorium.lib.duke.edu/pathfinders/civil-war/
Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library - Duke University
Compiled November 2001 by Janie Morris
See our contact information page if you have any questions.