Duke Libraries

Ask us now

Databases

Contemporary Women's Issues

This database indexes more than 150 magazines and journals that cover such global women's issues as human rights, violence and exploitation, discrimination, women in politics, the workplace, education, legal status, lifestyles, gender issues, health and reproductive rights, and other aspects of women's studies.

It also features articles selected from newsletters, journals, proceedings, instructional pamphlets, reports, the alternative press, legislative actions, personal narratives, and book and media reviews.

GenderWatch

GenderWatch is a full-text collection of over 140 international journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports and conference proceedings devoted to women's studies and gender issues.

This database provides in-depth coverage of topics such as family, childbirth, birth control, daycare, domestic abuse, work and the workplace, sexual harassment, aging, aging parents, body image, eating disorders and social and societal roles. It also includes content on the impact of gender and gender roles on areas such as the arts, popular culture and media, business and work, crime and criminology, education, research and scholarship, family, health care and medicine, politics, policy and legislation, pornography, religion, sex and sexuality, sports, and leisure.

Women's Studies International

This database covers feminist research literature in a wide range of subject areas including medicine and health, literature, sociology, history, international relations, arts and humanities, business, political science, public policy, education, economics, law, and psychology. Indexes journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, non-government organization websites and documents, and grey literature.

Alternative Press Index

This database indexes alternative, radical and leftist publications, including some research journals. Particular strengths in the social sciences and humanities. Topics include anarchism, indigenous peoples, democracy, labor, ecology, national liberation, feminism socialism - theory and practice, and gay and lesbian issues.


Last modified June 12, 2006 12:49:21 PM EDT

Home | Libraries | Ask Us Now | Catalog | Hours | Library Web Site Search | Site Index

Mobile Library Home (content for handheld devices such as cellphones)

Creative Commons License
Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.

Perkins Circulation Desk: 919-660-5870