Web Site Search

Link to Ask Us page

Additional Resources

Secondary Sources

Items held by Duke University Libraries are linked to the catalog record.

Castleman, Riva.  A Century of Artists’ Books. New York: Museum of Modern Art, c1994.

Courtney, Cathy. Speaking of Book Art: Interviews with British and American Book Artists. Los Altos Hills, CA: Anderson-Lovelace, 1999.

Drucker, Johanna. The Century of Artists’ Books. New York: Granary Books, 1995.

Guild of Book Workers.  Abecedarium: An Exhibit of Alphabet Books, The Guild of Book Workers, 1998-1999. Chicago : The Guild of Book Workers, c1998.

Hatch, Marilyn et al, ed. Resonance and response: Artists’ Books from Special Collections, Wellesley College Library, June 15-18, 2005. Wellesley, Mass.: Wellesley College Library, c2005.

Hubert, Renée Riese and Judd D. Hubert. The Cutting Edge of Reading: Artists’ Books. New York: Granary Books, 1999.

Klima, Stefan. Artists Books: A Critical Survey of the Literature. New York: Granary Books, 1998.

Lauf, Cornelia and Clive Philpot. Artist/Author: Contemporary Artists’ Books. New York: Distributed Art Publishers, 1998.

Lorenz, Angela. An Exhibition of Limited Edition Books by Angela Lorenz: Widener Memorial Room Rotunda, Widener Library, Harvard University, September, 1994. Manchester, MA: A. Lorenz, c1994.

Other Artists' Book Collections

Museum of Modern Art (New York, NY) The world’s largest repository, with over 10,000 artists’ books and home to the Franklin Furnace Archive, an avant-garde art organization.

National Museum of Women in the Arts (Washington, DC) has a collection of about 650 artists’ books.  They actively collect works by women book artists, and have an annual exhibition series. 

University of Delaware Special Collections Library

University of California at Los Angeles

Yale University Arts of the Book Collection

Joan Flasch Artists' Book Collection at the Art Institute of Chicago

University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill- Sloane Art Library 

Other notable collections

Book Arts Workshops and Other Resources

Asheville Book Works, Asheville, NC

Book Arts Web 

Booklyn, Brooklyn, NY 

Center for Book Arts, New York, NY 

Virginia Arts of the Book Center, Charlottesville, VA

Women's Studio Workshop, Rosendale, NY