Web Site Search

Link to Ask Us page

Women and Visual Arts

wild horsesKathy Acker Papers, 1973-1996 and undated
Cyberpunk author and performance artist. The Artwork Series contains original art work for her books. See also “Literary” and “Performing”.

Eugenia Hargous Macfarlane Balch Papers, 1885-1949

Clippings, notebooks, photographs, paper ephemera, and correspondence, chiefly 1885-1895, with family or friends (mostly women) concerning in part the role of women in Victorian society and Balch's early career as an artist. Also includes several small, original sketches. 400 items.

Frank Clyde Brown Papers, 1912-1974

Trinity College professor. Chiefly concerns Brown's activities with the North Carolina Folklore Society and contains items of its Folklore Collection. Included are drawings and examples of quilt patterns and handmade lace and folklorist Maude Sutton's collection of songs and games. 54,000 items.

heartsSarah E. Goodwin Needlework Patterns, 1860-[1903]
Volume into which manuscript and printed instructions and patterns for the creation of tapestries, collars, edging, capes, mittens, afghans, hoods, curtains, infant shoes, slippers, and other items were pasted and pinned. Text written on some pages indicates that the volume was once used as a commonplace book. Patterns for knitting, crocheting, quilting, embroidery, tatting, and other types of handwork are included. Collection also contains  numerous patterns for embroidered monograms and many loose patterns. 100 items.

Elsa Hasbrouck Correspondence, 1905-1938
Artist and art teacher. Comprises 152 manuscript letters by Elsa Hasbrouck to her mother, Esther, regarding her work, social life, and current events. Topics addressed in the correspondence include teaching art to children at The Children’s Community School and Winbrook School in White Plains, N.Y. 450 items.

Bettye Lane Photographs, 1970 to 1990 

Photographs documenting women’s equality and justice movements.

kate millettKate Millett Papers, 1912-2002 and n.d.
Author, feminist theorist, activist, and visual artist. Collection includes several hundred pieces of two- and three- dimensional artwork and related materials created by Millett. Includes many large ink drawings, photomontages, nude studies, components for at least two of Millett’s large, 3-dimensional installations (The Basement and The Elegy for Sita), and layout and design notes for exhibit installations and books. 323 items.

peslikisIrene Peslikis Papers, [ca. 1962]-2003 and n.d.
Feminist artist and activist in New York City. Includes records documenting Peslikis’s involvement with the Feminist Art Institute, Redstockings, and the journal Women & Art. Also includes artwork (multimedia pieces, notebooks documenting the artistic process, sketchbooks, slides, exhibit files, and guestbooks). 18,471 items.

sandersonHarriet Sanderson Stewart Diaries, 1906-1911
Three diaries written by an affluent British woman traveling with her father. Ms. Stewart recorded her impressions of people and events aboard ships, as well as describing accommodations, entertainments, plants, and ways of life in the places she visited (the West Indies, Canada, the United States, Sri Lanka, India, Burma, North Africa, and Southern Spain). Entries are illustrated with numerous watercolors and photographs (including cyanotypes and albumen prints) by Stewart. 5 vols.