Duke Libraries

Ask us now

Education

These collections include personal papers of professional educators, schoolgirl diaries and lesson books, and records of women's schools and women's educational organizations. Materials document the wide range of women's educational experiences in America (particularly the South and New England) in one-room school houses, female academies, and colleges and universities. Materials are abundant from both the 19th and the 20th centuries.

A - F | G - L | M - S | T - Z

American Association of University Women
Records 1931-1976. ca. 3,000 items. Durham, N.C. Membership and financial records, minutes, yearbooks, directories, annual reports, clippings, printed materials, audio tapes and other records documenting the official administrative functions of the Durham branch and its relationship to the national organization.
Anonymous
Commencement address, nd. 1 vol. An address on the subject of the education of women, probably written during the antebellum period.
Ballowe, Sarah E. R.
Album and notebook, 1848-1854, 1874. 2 vols. Fluvanna Co., Va. Autograph album, 1848-1854, containing poetry and prose from friends, and a chemistry notebook, 1874, which includes poems and copies of letters, 1851.
Baptist Female College
Records, 1881-1888. 3 items and 1 vol. Lexington, Mo. Student account ledger.
Bartlett, Ellen
Papers, 1856-1888. 519 items. Broad Brook, Conn. Letters to Bartlett from a number of friends and relatives concerning the schools and colleges of Connecticut and Illinois, the education of women, teachers and their salaries, and social life and customs.
Bradley, Amy Morris
Papers, 1806-1921. 138 items and 14 vols. Wilmington, N.C. Educator, nurse. Correspondence, diaries, clippings, and financial papers document this New Englander's work in establishing free schools for poor white children in the South; her duties as a nurse during the Civil War; her role in establishing the Tileston Normal School; and her work with the Wilmington Mission, the Soldier's Memorial Society, the American Unitarian Association, and the U.S. Sanitary Commission.
Burnham, Annie
Autograph album, 1871-1872. 1 vol. (35 pp.) Memphis, Tenn. Autograph album of student attending State Female College in Memphis.
Davis, Lizzie G.
Composition book, 1859. 1 vol (32 pp.) Maryland. Kept by Davis while a student at Frederick Female Seminary. Consists of fictional essays, relating in part to mid-nineteenth century family life, especially as it pertains to women.
Davis, Mary Miller
Papers, 1842-1878, 1906. 99 items. Richmond, Va. Chiefly correspondence between Miller and her mother while the former was attending a school for girls at Edge Hill, Virginia. Correspondence after Davis' marriage in 1848 pertains to family matters, prices, and requests for foodstuff.
Ferrebee, Sarah Eliza and Amanda E. Welch
Papers, 1832-1921. 143 items. Hampshire Co. and Mineral Co., W. Va. School-teacher. Correspondence between Ferrebee and her sister Amanda Welch concerning school, family, and agricultural matters. Also includes poetry, invitations, announcements, and legal and financial papers.

A - F | G - L | M - S | T - Z

Giles, Mary Zilpha
Papers, 1846-1942. 132 items. Greenwood, S.C. Student, school-teacher. Letters and papers concerning Giles' education at Trinity College in Randolph Co., N.C. in the 1870s where she was tutored at home by faculty members; her experiences as a teacher; and her trip abroad with her sister. Includes tuition receipts; an 1889 charter for the Giles sisters and their mother to conduct the Greenwood Female College in Greenwood, S.C.; and several letters from missionaries in India, China, and Guatemala.
Goodrich, Frances Louisa
Papers, 1890-1895. 4 vols. Asheville, N.C. Teacher's aide. Diaries and letterbooks document Goodrich's work as a companion and helper teaching sewing, history, reading and arithmetic at rural Home Industrial Schools operated by the Board of Missions of the Presbyterian Church. Volumes contain specific information about routine school life and are rich with details of local folklife and customs.
Gould, John Mead
Papers, 1841-1943. 3,587 items. Portland, Me. Primarily a collections relating to Gould's service in the Civil War, these papers also include the correspondence of Amelia and Adelthia Twitchell and the diaries, 1860-1865, of Amelia Jenkins Twitchell, who left Maine to teach at a freedmen's school in Beaufort, S.C.
Grout Family
Papers, 1848-1984. ca. 200 items, 6 vols. North Bloomfield, Mass., and Durham, N.C. Collection of miscellaneous family papers include the papers of Laura M. Miller Grout which contain reports, articles, photographs, and school papers documenting her work as principal of Dorchester Academy in McIntosh, Georgia and as assistant principal at Pleasant Hill Academy in the mountains of Tennessee. Collection also contains the papers of daughter Julia Grout, which include correspondence to her family while teaching physical education at Trinity College, articles written on the Durham Altrusa Club, and family memoirs.
Hunter, Charles N.
Papers, 1818-1931. 2,944 items & 18 vols. Raleigh, N.C. Personal and professional papers of Charles N. Hunter, educator and editor who was prominent in the effort to hire black teachers and provide better educational facilities for black students in North Carolina. Correspondence concerning family life and personal finance included letters home from his two daughters attending school at Howard around the turn of the century. The papers reflect Hunter's various political activities on behalf of black people. Included throughout the correspondence are letters from black women seeking teaching positions in North Carolina in the 1920s and 1930s. There are 17 scrapbooks containing clippings and other items concerning race relations and social/political/economic affairs pertaining to African-Americans.
Kaine, Alice J. Cutright
Papers, 1864-1947. 305 items. Milwaukee, Wis. Educator, administrator. Correspondence, writings, legal papers, printed materials, clippings, photographs, and miscellaneous materials document Kaine's work as public school teacher in Springfield, Ill., her service on the board of the Wisconsin Industrial School for Girls, and her employment at Tuskegee Institute.
Kell, John McIntosh
Papers, 1785-1921. 4,268 items, 8 vol. Darien, Ga. Large collection of family papers contains correspondence, scrapbooks, albums, and financial papers of Julia Blanche Munroe Kell, Marjorie Spalding Kell, Harriet T. Munroe, Tabitha Napier, Mary Denke, and Caroline Napier which document their attendance at various schools such as the Montpelier Institute and the Salem Female Academy. Published and unpublished manuscripts of Julia Kell include short stories and a collection of her husband's Civil War letters.
Kirby Family
Paper, 1831-1876. 13 items, 13 vols. Spartanburg, S.C. Family prominent in business, education, and political affairs in Spartanburg. Contains student account records (1856-1859) of the Spartanburg Female Academy where Major A. H. Kirby was trustee.
Lincolnton Female Academy
Records, 1821-1908. 20 items and 2 vols. Lincolnton, N.C. Receipts; committee reports; rolls of trustees and superintendents; and trustee minute books which include lists of students examined before the board and information on teachers' salaries.
Luiggi, Alice Houston
Papers, 1866-1952. 1,514 items. New York, N.Y. Author. Materials gathered while working on her book, 65 Valiants, on American teachers in Argentina, 1870-1888, consisting of letters, interviews, notes, photographs and diaries of teachers. Also includes information on kindergartens in Boston, St. Louis, and Washington, D.C.

A - F | G - L | M - S | T - Z

Marshall, Eugene
Papers, 1839-1962 873 items. Minnesota. Papers of a Civil War soldier include letters, 1861-1910, from his sister in Brockton, Mass., concerning economic conditions, labor problems, education and careers of women.
McDowall, Susan
Diary and scrapbook, 1856-1880. 1 vol. Camden, S.C. Descriptions of school and social life at Patapsco Institute, Endicott's Mill, Md., along with clippings of poems and biographical notes written after her father's death.
McMullen family
Papers, 1783-1969. 10,015 items & 38 vols. Washington, DC Family and business correspondence and invention papers of a family which engaged in promoting inventions. Includes letters from the Sisters of the Order of the Visitation of Holy Mary concerning the education of McMullen's daughters at various schools run by the Order; letters of Mary McMullen, principally while a companion to Jane Agnes Riggs, who was the daughter of a prominent Washington banker; letters to Mary from her cousin, novelist Mary Johnston; and papers relating to the settlement of a disputed legacy left to Mary McMullen by Jane Riggs.
Mordecai, Jacob
Papers, 1784-1936. 2,474 items. Warrenton, N.C. and Richmond, Va. Large family collection includes the papers of several Mordecai women. Of particular note are the letters of Ellen Mordecai regarding her long tenure as a teacher in her father's school at Warrenton and later as a governess in New York City and the letters of Caroline Mordecai Plunkett written while conducting a school in Warrenton with her husband and during her later life as a teacher in Mobile, Ala.
Myrick, Robert Algernon
Papers, 1890-1953. 73 items, 3 vols. Littleton, N.C. Collection contains two diary sections (1873, 1897) of Mary Beckham which describe teaching school in Halifax Co., and country life.
Nuermberger, Ruth Ann Ketring
Papers, 1924-1970. ca. 1,500 items. Washington, D.C. Historian. Professional papers include correspondence, travel diaries to Europe, writings, printed materials, research notes for The Clays of Alabama and Free Produce Movement, and genealogical materials.
Peebles, Sallie Sue Ellis
Papers, 1874-1926. 478 items. Advance, N.C. Music teacher. Correspondence, financial papers and commencement and conference programs document personal relationships as well as Peebles' work with the Woman's Association for the Betterment of Public School Houses.
Ramsey, George Junkin
Papers, 1802-1918. 4,078 items. Lynchburg, Va. Letters, 1855-1871, from Sabra S. Tracy, a schoolteacher who married Ramsey, a Virginia minister, document their courtship, marriage, and the life of a Northerner in the South during the Civil War. Papers document Ramsey's founding of the Lynchburg Female Academy in 1870 and its continuation by Sabra Ramsey from 1871-1885.
Reid, Frank Lewis
Papers, 1893-1897. 14 items. Greensboro, N.C. Papers include Reid's report, 1893, as president of the Greensboro Female College; letters of Solomon Lea, first president of the college; memoir of Mary Fleming Black; sketch of the Emerson Literary Society; and the alumnae address of Sallie S. Cotten, 1897, on the 50th anniversary of the college.
Richardson, Marion Morgan
Autograph album, 1895-1898. 1 vol. (56 p.). Baltimore, Md. Album of student at Southern Home School for Girls includes addresses, autographs, amusing messages, and numerous drawings by students at a private girls' school. Depicts students, staff, rooms in the school, and a local Presbyterian minister, Dr. William U. Murkland. Students include Mabel Duke, daughter of Brodie L. Duke.
Scott, Anne Byrd Firor
Diaries, 1937-1986. 2 boxes, 16 vols., and 4 reels. Durham, N.C. Restricted. Historian, educator. Personal diaries of noted women's historian and history professor at Duke University.
Stebbins, Laura W.
Papers, 1852-1884. 800 items. Springfield, Mass. School-teacher. Family and personal correspondence of Stebbins who taught in Mississippi before and after the Civil War, and who also operated her own school in Springfield. Contains information on subjects taught, remuneration of teachers, references to the Campbellite sect, living conditions in Ohio, merits of Northern and Southern teachers in Southern schools.
Stearns, Nellie F.
Papers, 1865. 1 item. New Bern, N.C. Letter from a Northern teacher in a Negro school describing the African Church in which she is teaching and the close observation of their activities by Southerners.

A - F | G - L | M - S | T - Z

Townsend Family
Papers, 1829-1972. 1,662 items, 36 vols. Felchville, Vt. Includes diaries, notebooks, photographs, and correspondence (1911-1972) of Bessie Meachum which document her activities as a teacher to black children at the Beach Institute in Savannah, Ga., Lincoln Normal School in Marion, Ala., and the Rio Grande Industrial School in Albuquerque, N.M. Correspondence of several Townsend family women relate to family matters. The letters of Annie Townsend reflect the activities and beliefs of a self-described spiritualist.
Tompkins, Charles Brown
Papers, 1847-1913. 462 items. Lewiston, Ill. Contains approximately 250 letters of Mary Gaper Tompkins who was a school-teacher in Rushville, Ill., which describe opening a girl's school in Lewiston; anti-Southern feelings; information on commodity prices; politics; military news; resistance to the draft act of 1863; and life at home. Also includes the letters from Mary C. Brown and Catherine Works.
Wheat, Lemuel C.
Correspondence, 1837-1897; (bulk 1870-1876). 344 items. Enfield (Halifax Co.), NC Correspondence between the Wheat and Hunter families, related through marriage. Included are the letters from the Wheat girls, who attend female seminaries, concerning school life.
Williamson, Alice
Diary, 1864. 1 vol. Gallatin, Tenn. Entries relate to the military occupation of Gallatin and surrounding areas by Union troops describing the presence of former slaves, projects to educate them, school life and social visits.
Wood, E. Loleta
Papers, 1930-1961. 42 items. Chiefly mimeographed letters from Wood to her friends outside of India about her work in Rahuri as a missionary teacher and a principal of educational work and later in Poona as a member of the staff of the United Theological College of Western India.
Woodruff, Isabella Anna Roberts
Papers, 1768-1865. 609 items. Charleston, S.C. School-teacher. Chiefly correspondence between Woodruff and several other single self-supporting middle class women documenting the variety of teaching positions held by the women at schools and academies and with private families as well as the struggles of teaching during the Civil War. Also included are Civil War courtship letters.

Last modified May 29, 2008 2:28:04 PM EDT

Home | Libraries | Ask Us Now | Catalog | Hours | Library Web Site Search | Site Index

Mobile Library Home (content for handheld devices such as cellphones)

Creative Commons License
Unless otherwise specified on this page, this work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 United States License.

Perkins Circulation Desk: 919-660-5870