This Bibliography was
initially put together in 1989 and is not intended to be
comprehensive. You will want to consult Duke Libraries'
on-line catalog for more recent publications and any additional
materials the library may have. Feel free to
ask the Women's Studies Reference Archivist if you need help
finding information on this topic.
Perkins Library Reference
- Ref. z378.73 B365B
- Beech, Mark. A Bibliographic Guide to American Colleges and
Universities from Colonial Times to the Present. Westport, Conn.:
Greenwood Press, 1975.
- Index area qz370.5 C976
- Current Index to Journals in Education. 1975-present. (Earlier
volumes in Perkins stack. Computer searching available - ask at
Reference Desk).
- Ref. 378.73 A 512Fx
- Fact Book on Higher Education. New York: American Council on
Education, 1984-present. (Latest in Reference, earlier volumes in
Perkins stacks.)
- Index area 378.1940973 H638 E24x
- Higher Education Abstracts. (Latest five years, earlier volumes
in Perkins stacks).
- Ref. 016.3780072 Q2 R432
- Quay, Richard H. Research in Higher Education: A Guide to
Source Bibliographies. 2nd ed. Phoenix: Oryx, 1985.
- Index area 016.37078 R434x
- Resources in Education. 1981-present. (Earlier volumes in
Perkins stacks. Computer searching available - ask at Reference
Desk).
Perkins Library Stacks
- 370.92 M681 A633
- Antler, Joyce. Lucy Sprague Mitchell: The Making of a Modern
Woman. New Haven: Yale University Press, 1987.
- 376.65 S693
- Astin, Helen S., ed. Some Action of Her Own: The Adult Woman
and Higher Education. Lexington, Mass.: Lexington Books, 1976.
- 396.5 A854W
- Astin, Helen S. The Woman Doctorate in America: Origins,
Career, and Family. New York: Russell Sage Foundation, 1969.
- 376.6 B642
- Blandin, Isabella Margaret Elizabeth. History of Higher
Education of Women in the South Prior to 1860. New York and
Washington: Neale Publishing Co., 1909.
- 376.8 C725 V312
- Colton, Elizabeth Avery. The Various Types of Southern Colleges
for Women. Raleigh, N.C.: Mitchell Printing Co., 1917.
- 016.37812 F231 A168
- Farley, Jennie. Academic Women and Employment Discrimination: A
Critical Annotated Bibliography. Ithaca, N.Y.: New York State
School of Industrial and Labor Relations, Cornell University, 1982.
(Also in Law Library Reference).
- 376.65 F829C
- Frankfort, Roberts. Collegiate Women: Domesticity and Career in
Turn-of-the-Century America. New York: New York University Press,
1977. (Also in East Campus Library).
- 378.73 E68E 1979 no. 1
- Gappa, Judith M. Women in the Academe: Steps to Greater
Equality. Washington: American Association for Higher Education,
1979.
- 376.973 G655P
- Goodsell, Willystine, ed. Pioneers of Women's Education in the
United States: Emma Willard, Catherine Beecher, Mary Lyon. New York
and London: McGraw-Hill, 1931.
- 378.0088042 H236
- Handbook for Women Scholars: Strategies for Success. San
Francisco: Center for Women Scholars, Americas Behavioral Research
Corp., 1982.
- 376.973 H816 A444
- Horowitz, Helen Lefkowitz. Alma Mater: Design and Experience in
the Women's Colleges from Their Nineteenth Century Beginnings to
the 1930s. New York: Knopf, 1984.
- 376.650973 K81 W872
- Komarovsky, Mirra. Women in Colleges: Shaping New Feminine
Identities. New York: Basic Books, 1985. (Also in East Campus
Library).
- 376.650973 R311
- Minnich, Elizabeth, Jean O'Barr, and Rachel Rosenfield, eds.
Reconstructing the Academy: Women's Education and Women's Studies.
Chicago: University of Chicago Press, 1988.
- 016.378 M822 W872
- Moore, Kathryn M. Women in Higher Education: A Contemporary
Bibliography. Washington, D.C.: National Association of Women
Deans, Administrators, and Counselors, 1979.
- 376.973 N541C
- Newcomer, Mabel. A Century of Higher Education for American
Women. New York: Harper, 1959.
- 376.650973 D182
- Rothman, David. The Dangers of Education: Sexism and the
Origins of Women's Colleges. New York: Garland, 1987.
- 375.0088 W872
- Schuster, Marilyn R., and Susan R. Van Dyne, eds. Women's Place
in the Academy: Transforming the Liberal Arts Curriculum. Totowa,
NJ: Rowman and Allanheld, 1985.
- 376.6 S452N
- Seeley, L. Clarke. The Need of a Collegiate Education for
Women. Springfield, Mass.: Clark W. Bryan & Co., 1874.
- 616.9803092 H217 S565
- Sicherman, Barbara. Alice Hamilton, A Life in Letters.
Cambridge, Mass.: Harvard University Press, 1984. (Also in East
Campus Library and Medical Center Historical Collection).
- 378.S589 A168
- Simeone, Angela. Academic Women: Working Towards Equality.
[South Hadley,] Mass.: Bergin & Garvey, 1987. (Also in Law
Library).
- 376.973 S689 I35
- Soloman, Barbara M. In the Company of Educated Women: A History
of Women and Higher Education in America. New Haven: Yale
University Press, 1985.
- 376.S936D
- Styrtevant, Sarah Martha, ed. Deans at Work: Discussion by
Eight Women Deans of Various Phases of Their Work. New York and
London: Harper & Brothers, 1930.
- 305.4071173 F692
- Treichler, Paula A. For Alma Mater: Theory and Practice in
Feminist Scholarship. Urbana: University of Illinois Press, 1985.
(Also in Law Library).
- 376.973 W912H
- Woody, Thomas. A History of Women's Education in the United
States. New York: Science Press, 1929.
Manuscript Collections in Special Collections
Library
- American Association of University Women Records, 1931-1976.
Durham, N.C.
- Financial records, minutes, yearbooks, directories, annual
reports documenting the administrative functions of Durham Branch
of national organization.
- Ellen Bartlett Papers, 1856-1888. Broad Brook, Conn.
- Letters to Bartlett from a number of female relatives and
friend concerning the schools and colleges of Connecticut and
Illinois, education of women, teachers and their salaries.
- John Clopton Papers, 1629-1915. Manchester, Va.
- Includes financial record books, 1861-1865 of Adelaide Clopton,
containing lists of students, tuition accounts, and the minutes and
constitution of the Keecoughton Literary Society at Chesapeake
Female College.
- Amanda E. Gardner Papers, 1833-1892. Cahaba, Ala.
- Family correspondence contains information on Elizabeth
Gardner's education at Presbyterian Female Collegiate Institute,
Talladega, Ala., 1854-1855.
- Cora Perry McCanless Papers, 1893-1933. Asheville, N.C.
- Includes course essays and grade reports, 1895-1897 relating to
McCanless' work as a student at the Asheville Female College.
- Louisa Bouknight and Mary Barnett Poppenheim Papers, 1871-1955.
Charleston, S.C.
- Correspondence related to the two sisters' education at Vassar
during the 1880s. Mary was the first Southerner to be awarded a
degree from Vassar.
- Frank Lewis Reid Papers, 1893-1897. Greensboro, N.C.
- Contains 1893 and 1896 president's report of Greensboro Female
College, a sketch of the college's Emerson Literary Society, and
the 1897 alumnae address of Sallie S. Cotton which discusses the
importance of women's education and the power of women's
clubs.
- Scarborough Family Papers, 1760-1939. Mount Gilead, N.C.
- Family correspondence includes information on education and
student life at Davenport Female College during the 19th
century.
Newspapers and Microforms
- S5327 American Periodical Series, 1741-1900.
- Includes the following periodicals which contain articles
concerning the education of women: American Journal of Education,
Godey's Magazine, Ladies Garland, and The Chatauguan.
- S12 Chronicle of Higher Education, 1967-date.
- (Also in Periodicals, East Campus Library Newspapers, and Law
Library Periodicals).
- M5554 Early American Imprints, 1639-1800.
- Collection contains entries by women such as Mary
Wollstonecraft.
Pamphlet Collection (Perkins Circulation)
Includes numerous published opening and commencement addresses
delivered throughout the 19th and 20th centuries at various female
academies and women's colleges such as Brooklyn Female Academy,
1846, Pennsylvania Female College, 1853, and Rutgers Female
College, 1860.
Periodicals
- Per N277WD
- Journal of the National Association for Women Deans,
Administrators, and Counselors. 1956-date. (Also in Newspapers and
Microforms).
- Per N532OH
- Meeting Women's Educational Needs. Clare Rose, issue editor.
San Francisco: Josey-Bass, 1975.
Rare Books in the Special Collections
Library
- E q#733
- MacDonald, James Alexander. Flora MacDonald; A History and A
Message... [Washington, D.C.: J.W.Bryan Press, c1916]. (A pictorial
account of Flora MacDonald College).
- E 12mo #2123
- Garnett, James Mercer. Lectures on Female Education...
Richmond: T.W. White, 1825.
- E S552L
- Modern Education... Dublin: printed by R. Marchbank, 1775.
- E #264
- More, Hannah. Strictures on the Modern System of Female
Education... Boston: printed for J. Brumstead, 1802.
Also available are numerous 19th and early 20th century
catalogues, commencement and concert programs, and other
promotional materials for American women's colleges, particularly
from southern institutions and including several from the Civil War
period.
Originally Compiled 3/89: Perkins Library (G. Daley, E. Dunn, C.
Handler, D. Shaw)
Rev. 6/96