Women's Collections on Microfilm
Personal Papers
A - G | H - R | S
- Z
- The Jane Addams Papers, 1868-1935.
- CALL NUMBER: M5788s, guide available.
Most famous for her role in the development of settlement houses
for immigrant and migrant women in industrialized cities, Addams
was an author, social reformer and Nobel Peace Prize winner. Her
papers include a wide array of records such as grade cards, address
books, a "weight diary", reading lists, correspondence and diaries
spanning 64 years of her life, documents related to her books,
papers related to more than 173 organizations, tributes and
miscellaneous writings. Vast and comprehensive. microfilm: 82
reels.
- The Papers of Emily Greene Balch, 1875-1961.
- CALL NUMBER: M6652, guide available.
A collection of extensive writings by and about this peace activist
and Nobel Prize winning author including her diaries, notebooks,
articles and speeches as well as tributes to Balch and articles
describing her as others knew her. microfilm: 26 reels.
- Mary McLeod Bethune Papers the Bethune-Cookman College
Collection, 1922-1955.
- CALL NUMBER: M7191, guide available.
One of the most powerful African Americans in the United States in
the first half of the 20th century. These papers document her long
tenure as the tireless president of Bethune-Cookman College, a
president of the National Association of Colored Women's Clubs,
founder of the National Council on Negro Women, and organizer of
the Federal Council on Negro Affairs. microfilm: 13 reels.
- Sarah Evelyn (Baylor) Blackford Papers, 1899-1901.
- CALL NUMBER: Special Collections Library: 30-01-1
Turn of the century Victorian scrapbook, compiled by Blackford,
containing 58 pages of newspaper clippings of poems, news items,
and literary articles. microfilm: 1 reel.
- The Papers of the Blackwell Family, 1759-1950.
- CALL NUMBER: N5042, guide available.
Beginning with the pioneering work of Lucy Stone, who in 1847 gave
her first lecture on women's rights, and continuing to the death of
her daughter, Alice Stone Blackwell in 1950, these papers document
20 family members whose lives and work contributed to the evolution
of Women's Rights in politics, religion, medicine, economics, and
the domestic sphere. microfilm: 76 reels.
- The Journal of Maria, Lady Callcott, 1827-1828.
- CALL NUMBER: S201.718, guide available.
Travel writer and art historian Lady Callcott recorded her
honeymoon, an extended tour of Italy anf Germany, during which she
and her husband (a painter) sought to reevaluate European art.
Published for the first time in full, this journal has attracted
the attention of art historians internationally. microfiche: 5
sheets.
- The Papers of Carrie Chapman Catt, 1848-1950.
- CALL NUMBER: M5229s, guide available.
Diaries, correspondence, speeches, and articles of a co-founder of
the National League of Women Voters and a president of both the
National American Woman's Suffrage Association and the
International Woman's Suffrage Alliance. These papers document her
world tour for the cause of suffrage, her struggles and tactics in
the fight for women's rights, and her devotion in later life to the
cause of peace as a member of the National Committee on the Cause
and Cure of War. microfilm: 18 reels.
- Collected Correspondence of Lydia Marie Child, 1817-1880.
- CALL NUMBER: N4621, guide available.
Microfiche of 2,604 letters which reveal the personal life and
political opinions of this writer, speaker for women's rights, and
anti-slavery activist. Some of her correspondents include Margaret
Fuller, George Eliot, Elizabeth Cady Stanton, and Lucy Stone.
microfiche: 97 sheets.
- The Raya Dunayevskaya Collection, 1941-1981.
- CALL NUMBER: N4013, guide available.
Dunayevskaya's papers trace her early life in Russia, her move to
the U.S. as a child, her position as secretary to Trotsky during
his exile in Mexico (1937-38), her break with him at the beginning
of World War II, the creation of her seminal, comprehensive study
of Russia's Five Year Plans, and her work with the International
Labor Defense Committee as well as the Women's Liberation Movement.
microfilm: 3 reels.
- The Emma Goldman Papers, 1892-1929.
- CALL NUMBER: M7288, guide available.
The definitive collection of the most prominent anarchist woman of
her time. It spans cultures and continents, tracing the origins of
the social movements of the time such as the birth control and
reproductive rights movement and the Free Speech movement
(including government surveillance records). Fully indexed, subject
coded with summary and notes. microfilm: 67 reels.
- The Griswold Collection, 1834-1878.
- CALL NUMBER: Special Collections Library: 438-01-1
Letters from Southern writers to Rufus W. Griswold, compiler and
editor of literary collections. Many of the correspondents were
women such as Caroline Lee Hentz, Beverly Tucker, Elizabeth F.
Eller, and Amelia B. Welby. microfilm: 1 reel.
A - G | H - R | S
- Z
- Isabella Beecher Hooker Project, 1835-1907.
- CALL NUMBER: S201.422, guide available.
Papers of the suffragist that include family photographs, the
majority of her extant manuscripts, title pages from her collection
of her own books; correspondence, circulars, and broadsides related
to women's issues. The collection contains more than 1700 items.
microfiche: 144 sheets.
- Susan Wood Keyes Journal, 1849.
- CALL NUMBER: Special Collections Library: 154-01-1
Keyes' journal from Winchester, Frederick County, Virginia.
microfilm: 1 reel.
- Jennie Lind Album.
- CALL NUMBER: Special Collections Library: 168-01-1
The 19th century "Album of Jennie Lind," Swedish singer and
composer. microfilm: 1 reel.
- Women, Emancipation and Literature: The Papers of Harriet
Martineau.
- CALL NUMBER: M6767, guide available.
19th century author, journalist, social commentator, and leading
feminist intellectual in the second half of the 19th century,
Martineau is noted for her contribution to the economic, social,
and political theories of her day. The collection features signed
manuscripts of the "Autobiography," letters to and from publishers
and family members, manuscript notes on strikes, press cuttings,
and testimonial papers, and notes for "History of Forty Years of
Peace" of this "pioneer of British middle class radicalism."
microfilm: 17 reels.
- Susannah R. (Gibson) Norton Papers, 1754-1882.
- CALL NUMBER: Special Collections Library: 206-01-1
Letters and papers of the Gibson and Norton families relating to
family affairs, farming conditions, and commodity prices. Includes
five Civil War letters. microfilm: 2 reels.
- Hester Ann Rogers Papers, 1776-1794.
- CALL NUMBER: Special Collections Library: 238-01-1
Letters and hand written journal of Hester Ann (Roe) Rogers, wife
of an early Methodist preacher in England. Contains correspondence
between Hester and her friend, Sally Salmon between 1776-1785 about
their personal experiences with a focus on the role of religion in
their lives. microfilm: 1 reel.
- The Papers of Eleanor Roosevelt, 1933-1945.
- CALL NUMBER: M6579, guide available.
This collection represents the most comprehensive source of
materials by and about Eleanor Roosevelt. Of particular interest
are her correspondence with Walter White of the NAACP, material
about her family, especially her father, and drafts of articles and
lectures. microfilm: 20 reels.
A - G | H - R | S -
Z
- The Margaret Sanger Papers.
- CALL NUMBER: M7286
Sanger was a founder and lifelong leader of the American and
international birth control movements. Her vast personal papers
exhibit a complex portrait of both the personal and public lives of
one of the 20th century's most influential and controversial
figures. microfilm: 83 reels.
- Harriet Shelley,1812-1815, 1826-1830.
- CALL NUMBER: Special Collections Library: 249-01-1
Letters of Harriet Shelley to Catherine Nugent. microfilm: 1
reel.
- The Papers of Elizabeth Cady Stanton.
- CALL NUMBER: N3909
Composed of correspondence, speeches, articles, drafts of books,
scrapbooks, and printed matter relating to Stanton's personal life
as well as her participation in the Woman Suffrage Movement.
microfilm: 5 reels.
- The Papers of Elizabeth Cady Stanton and Susan B. Anthony,
1831-1906.
- CALL NUMBER: M6761, guide available.
Correspondence, speeches, articles, drafts of books, and scrapbooks
compiled from many sources related to these two leaders of the
Woman Suffrage movement. microfilm: 45 reels.
- The Papers of Mary Church Terrell, 1863-1954.
- CALL NUMBER: N5045
Papers, chiefly 1886-1954, focusing primarily on Terrell's career
as an advocate of both women's rights and equal treatment for
African Americans. Included are manuscripts of her autobiography
and correspondence with other activists of the the time including
Jane Addams and Mary Mcleod Bethune. microfilm: 34 reels.
- Sarah Wesley Papers, 1756-1828.
- CALL NUMBER: Special Collections Library : 301-01-1
Includes correspondence with various friends and relatives
including more than a hundred letters addressed to her. Sarah's
letters contain poetry and hymns presumably of her own composition
as well as her thoughts about the career of her father, Charles
Wesley. microfilm: 1 reel.
- American Women's Diaries: New England, Western, Southern
series.
- CALL NUMBERS: M6786, M7233, M6787, guides available.
A multicultural collection of materials from the 18th, 19th, and
20th centuries which contains diaries, letters, manuscripts,
reminiscences, WPA narratives, overland journals, and oral history
transcriptions providing firsthand accounts, personal experiences,
life-styles and life stories. microfilm: 21, 35, and 34 reels
respectively.
- Southern Women and Their Families in the 19th Century, Papers
and Diaries: Series B,C,D.
- CALL NUMBERS: M7192, M7193, M7194, guides available.
A vast collection which brings to life the voices and thoughts of
Southern women through diaries, correspondence with family and
friends, and business correspondence and records. Among the most
frequently discussed topics are homelife, courtship, education,
child rearing, marriage, and religion. microfilm: 26, 22, and 51
reels respectively.