Reference Works
General Reference:
- Sadie, Stanley and Alison Latham, ed. The Norton Grove
Concise Encyclopedia of Music. New York and London: W.W.
Norton and Company, 1988.
- A concise version of the 20 volume New Grove Dictionary of
Music and Musicians. A comprehensive and portable source which
will answer just about any question a person new to music could
ask. Music Reference -- CALL NUMBER: 780.321 N884, 1988
Abstracts and Indexes:
- The Music Index Detroit: Information Coordination,
1949-present.
- A source published monthly and arranged alphabetically which
features citations of articles (including reviews) from roughly 400
periodicals, but does not include abstracts. It is also available
on CD-ROM with articles indexed from 1981-1991. Searching for terms
like "women musicians" will give a more useful list than "women and
music" which yields well over a thousand (though they are worth the
effort if one has the time!) Music Reference -- CALL NUMBER: 016.78
M9876 or CD-ROM on a terminal the Music Library.
- R'epertoire International de Litterateur (RILM). New
York: RILM. 1967-present.
- Includes abstracts on musical literature contained in articles
from roughly 100 periodicals, books, essays, dissertations, and
editions of music. Also includes reviews of materials in the field
of music. It is international in scope and is divided into section
such as music history, theory, or performance. Index Table -- CALL
NUMBER: Arranged Chronologically
Women and Music Reference Sources:
- Block, Adrienne Fried. Women in American music : A
Bibliography of Music and Literature. Westport, CN: Greenwood
Press, 1979.
- A bibliography with sections on reference materials, collected
works, and historical studies whose materials range from colonial
times to 1978. The works listed cover general literature, women
composers, performers, educators, patrons, and members of music
clubs as well as an "art music discography". Music Reference --
CALL NUMBER: 780.92 B651, W872, 1979
- Cohen, Aaron I.. International Encyclopedia of Women
Composers. New York: Books & Music (USA), c1987.
- Music Reference -- CALL NUMBER: 780.92 C678, I61, 1987
- Ericson, Margaret D. Women and Music 1987/1988: a
Bibliography on the Collective Subject of Women in Music
(updated for 1988/1989 and 1989/1990 editions). M. Ericson,
1991.
- Three small folders filled with information on the subject of
women and music in the form of a bibliography citing monographs,
periodicals, newspaper articles, audios, videos, catalogs and more.
Compiled originally for the 1988 Music Roundtable of the Music
Library Association to enable music librarians and others
interested to survey recent activities of women in music. Music --
CALL NUMBER: 016.78082 E78, W872 , 1991
- Grattan, Virginia L. American Women Songwriters : a
Biographical Dictionary. Westport, CN: Greenwood Press,
1993.
- A collection of short biographical sketches of American women
in music including pop/rock, motion pictures, musicals, blues,
jazz, folk, country, early women songwriters, hymns, and gospel.
Includes a song index as well as a comprehensive general index.
Music Reference -- CALL NUMBER: 782.42092 G773, A512, 1993
- Hixon, Donald L. Women in Music : a Bio-Bibliography.
Matuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1975.
- A general bibliographical and biographical resource about women
composers and songwriters, women musicians, and other women
involved in music. Music Reference -- CALL NUMBER: 780.071 H676W,
1975
- Jackson, Barbara Garvey. Say Can You Deny Me : A Guide to
Surviving Music by Women From the 16th Through the 18th
Centuries. Fayetteville, AR: University of Arkansas Press,
1994.
- A comprehensive guide to works known to survive in European and
American libraries in the renaissance, baroque, and classical
periods. It offers biographic detail as well as a guide to the
music itself (scores and sound recordings). Music Reference -- CALL
NUMBER: 016.78082 J12, S274, 1994
- Reich, Nancy B. and Adrienne Fried Block, ed. Women's
Studies, Women's Status. Boulder, CO: College Music Society,
1988.
- An annotated bibliography of recent writings on women in music
by Reich with a statistical report by Block compiled as a
continuation of the work of the Committee on the Status of Women in
Music (1984-1986). With a preliminary check-list of films and
videos featuring women in music. Music -- CALL NUMBER: 780.6 C697R,
no. 5, 1988
- Sadie, Julie Anne & Rhian Samuel, eds. The Norton/Grove
Dictionary of Women Composers. New York ; London : W.W.
Norton, 1994.
- Music Reference -- CALL NUMBER: 780.92082 N884, 1995
Frequently Cited Texts
- Bowers, Jane and Judith Tick,ed. Women making music: The
Western Art Tradition, 1150-1950. Urbana : University of
Illinois Press, c1986.
- Includes bibliographical references and index. Music -- CALL
NUMBER: 780.88042 W872, 1986
- Citron, Marcia J. Gender and the Musical Canon.
Cambridge, England: Cambridge University Press, 1993.
- Describes women and their relationship to canon formation
within the context of music. Divided into sections on canonic
issues; creativity; professionalism; music as a gendered discourse;
reception; and the canon in practice. Music -- CALL NUMBER: 780.82
C581, G325, 1993
- Cook, Susan C. and Judy S. Tsou. Cecilia Reclaimed:
Feminist Perspectives on Gender and Music. Urbana, IL:
University of Illinois Press, 1994.
- A collection of essays on the themes of feminism in musicology
and feminist music criticism with a focus on gender, the body,
sexuality, and the politics of representation. Mostly concerning
formal music. Music -- CALL NUMBER: 780.82 C388, 1994
- McClary, Susan. Feminine Endings : Music, Gender, and
Sexuality. Minneapolis, MN: University of Minnesota Press,
1991.
- A book which treats constructions of gender, sexual politics,
and musical representation of mad women. Runs the gamut from formal
music to Laurie Anderson and Madonna. A controversial book that is
almost always off the shelf. Music -- CALL NUMBER: 780.82 M126,
F329, 1991
- Neuls-Bates, Carol, ed. Women in Music: An Anthology of
Source Readings from the Middle Ages to the Present. New York:
Harper and Row, 1982.
- A group of readings divided into traditional music categories:
Middle Ages; Renaissance; Baroque; Classical Period; along with
divisions appropriate to the selections: 1820-1920 and 1921-1982.
Mostly concerning formal music, but useful as an introduction to
the field of women in music. Music -- CALL NUMBER: 780.88042 W872,
1982
- Pendle, Karin, ed. Women & Music : a History.
Bloomington, IN: Indiana University Press, 1991.
- Essays on women in music starting with Greece and Rome and
ending at "Modern Music Around the World" and "Special Roles of
Women in Music". A comprehensive guide to the field in accessible
prose particularly important for its section on the beginnings of
music and women's role therein. Music -- CALL NUMBER: 780.82 W872,
1991
- Zaimont, Judith Lang, ed. The Musical Woman : An
International Perspective. Westport, CN: Greenwood Press,
1983; 1984-1985; 1986-1990.
- A three volume set that starts with a gazette of events, e.g.,
conferences, performances, festivals, publications, and recent
deaths among other happenings. Part II contains essays on women in
the music business/profession, critical appraisals, surveys, music
education, and special topics. A brilliant source. Music -- CALL
NUMBER: 780.88042 M987, 1983; 1984-85; 1986-90
Musical Anthologies
- Briscoe, James R., ed. Historical Anthology of Music by
Women. Bloomington : Indiana University Press, c1987.
- Contains vocal and instrumental music from the Middle Ages to
the present, with introductory essays on each composer. Principally
reprints. English, French, German, Italian, and Latin words;
includes English translations printed as texts for
non-English-language works. Music -- CALL NUMBER: M780.8 H673
1986
- Schleifer, Martha Furman and Sylvia Glickman, ed. Women
Composers : Music Through the Ages. New York : G.K. Hall,
1995-
- Annotated, modern performance scores from the ninth through the
twentieth centuries. Also contains explanatory essays,
bibliographical references, and index for composers born before
1599. Music Reference -- CALL NUMBER: M780 W872 1995
Periodicals
- Heresies. New York: Heresies Collective, Inc. 1980.
Special Issue on Women and Music: Issue 10.
- An idea oriented journal (extant in the 70's and early 80's)
devoted to a feminist perspective on arts and politics. This issue
published on women and music contains interviews, profiles, and
articles pertinent to the subject with photographs and drawings
throughout. Music -- CALL NUMBER: 780.82 W872, 1980
- International League of Women Composers Journal and
Newsletter. Arlington, VA: The League, 1979-present.
- Founded in 1979, the League publishes the journal three times a
year while the newsletter comes out seasonally. They contain
reviews, reports, festival information, announcements and press
releases, messages, opportunities, and queries. There is a special
issue of the journal called "Women in Music" published in December,
1991. Music Periodicals -- CALL NUMBER: Arranged
Alphabetically
- Music Educators Journal. Reston, VA: Music Educators
National Conference, 1938-present. Special Issue on Women in Music:
March, 1992.
- Articles and illustrations on how to include women in the music
curriculum. With profiles of prominent women in the field past and
present, well-known and forgotten. Music Periodicals -- CALL
NUMBER: Arranged Alphabetically
- The NATS Journal: The Official Magazine of the National
Association of Teachers of Singing. Oberlin, OH: The
Association, 1985-present.
- "New Directions" is a regular column written by Sharon Mabry
which has appeared in this publication since the mid 80's and
regularly addresses issues relevant to the field of women and
music, for example "Finding music by women composers" in the
January/February 1992 edition. Music Periodicals -- CALL NUMBER:
Arranged Alphabetically
- Paid My Dues. Milwaukee, WI: Woman's Soul
Publications, May-Oct., 1975 and Autumn, 1977-Winter, 1978.
- Established in 1974, this was a quarterly journal of women's
music written by feminists involved in the women's movement of the
1970's. Special Collections Library -- CALL NUMBER: E Pam q#546 and
the ALFA Periodicals Collection
- The World of Music. Journal of the International
Institute for Traditional Music. Wilhelmshaven, Germany: Edition
Heinrichshofen, 1957-present. Special Issue on Women and Music:
Feb. 1991.
- An English language periodical concerned with international or
ethnic music. Feminist musicologists Marcia Herndon and Susanne
Ziegler edited an issue devoted to women. Includes papers and
reviews of books on the subject of women in music. Music
Periodicals -- CALL NUMBER: Arranged Alphabetically
Journal Articles
- Bowers, J.M. (1989) "Feminist Scholarship and the Field of
Musicology: I". College Music Symposium 29:81-92.
- Bowers undertook in the first part of this two part article to
survey the leading scholarly journals in the field of music in
order to determine the role of feminist thought. She found that
over a three and a half year period only twelve articles appeared.
She also commends the work of Nancy B. Reich and Adrienne Fried
Block in their Women's Studies, Women's Status. Music
Periodicals -- CALL NUMBER: Arranged Alphabetically
- Bowers, J.M. (1990) "Feminist Scholarship and the Field of
Musicology:II". College Music Symposium 30:1-13.
- The second part of this article is a proposal of ideas to
consider, questions to ask, and investigations and analyses to
undertake in order to further extend knowledge about the
relationship between gender and music making. Music Periodicals --
CALL NUMBER: Arranged Alphabetically
- Rieger, Eva.(1985) "Dolce Semplice? The Changing Role of Women
in Music". Feminist Aesthetics, edited by Gisela Ecker.
pp.135-87.
- An analysis of why women have played a smaller part in the
creative processes and a call to provide conditions conducive to
women's independent artistic development. Rieger says that it is
not enough to show how good many women's works have been, but to
draw attention to "works that were never written". Lilly -- CALL
NUMBER: 700.1 F329, 1985
- Van den Toorn, Pieter C. (1991). "Politics, Feminism, and
Contemporary Music Theory". Journal of Musicology
9:275-99.
- A discussion of women's relationship to music arguing that it
is not a special one. Women can claim no special virtue by reason
of their oppressed status, so they should not have special
consideration in terms of their role in music
making/performing/consuming. An interesting counter-point! Music
Periodicals -- CALL NUMBER: Arranged Alphabetically
Browsing Area
Because of the multi-disciplinary nature of the topic, it is
difficult to find range of books on women in music that are shelved
together. There is really only one library on campus where the
researcher can find a browsable pocket of relevant material.
Here are the call numbers. Music Library: ML 780.82 through ML
780.88
Searching The Catalogs At Duke
The materials found in the libraries at Duke are listed in both
the traditional card catalogs and in the on-line
catalog . It is important to use both catalogs as neither one
is comprehensive. When using the online
catalog, a keyword search is the simplest approach. If
the researcher is interested in a particular composer or performer,
that person's name can be used in an author search in the
on-line
catalog or the card catalog. Doing a subject search
on-line or searching the card catalog will require the correct
Library of Congress subject headings. Here are some
suggestions.
Library of Congress Subject Headings
Broad Topics:
- music
- music--to 500 (i.e. ancient music)
- music--500-1400 or music--15th century (i.e. medieval
music)
- music--16th century (i.e. medieval or renaissance music)
- music--17th century (i.e. renaissance or baroque music)
- music--18th century (i.e. baroque or classical period
music)
- music--19th century (i.e. classical period or romantic period
music)
- music--20th century (i.e. expressionism or neoclassicism)
- popular music (i.e. gospel music or rock music)
Narrower Topics:
- women composers
- women musicians
- women music teachers
- women jazz musicians
- women rock musicians
- feminism and music
- sexuality in music
- women artists