Because of the Company's pioneering role in the development of the advertising industry and the unparalleled degree to which Company executives saved documentary evidence of its operations, the J. Walter Thompson Company stands alone as the single most complete and informative corporate record of the history of modern advertising. It consists of over 5,000 linear feet of printed, manuscript and audiovisual materials, including many advertisements. A list of collections found within the Archives include the materials described below.
The J. Walter Thompson Company (JWT) History page provides additional information.
Some collections are unprocessed and may not be accessible. In addition, other restrictions may apply. All unpublished JWT documents created within the last 15 years are closed for research to non-JWT individuals. Please contact the Hartman Center Reference Archivist for more information about access to these collections.
A - C | D - F | G - M | N - R | S - Z
- Account Files Collections, 1885–1987. [Finding Aid]
- Account histories and records for various J. Walter Thompson Co. accounts of the 20th century.
- Advertising and Marketing Intelligence (AMI) Records, 1979–1981. [Finding Aid]
- Information on the Advertising and Marketing Intelligence (AMI) database, a JWT/NYT advertising and marketing news database; and, AD/KIT, or "Advertising Key Information Tracking System."
- Advertising Vertical File, 1950–1994. [Finding Aid]
- Subject files on a wide range of advertising topics. Comprised of news clippings, articles, and pamphlets.
- Artifacts and Memorabilia Collection, 1990s.
- Wide range of material from various J. Walter Thompson Co. offices, including tapes, clothing, plaques, coffee mugs, etc. Paper guide in Reading Room.
- Audio-Visual Materials, Frankfurt Office.
- See entry under Frankfurt Office.
- Balestrino (Charles J.), 1987–1993.
- Executive Vice President of J. Walter Thompson Co. New York in the 1990s. Unprocessed.
- Bartos (Rena) Papers, 1966–1996. [Finding Aid]
- Chiefly files related to her research on various marketing trends, in particular, marketing and women. Includes speeches, articles, book manuscripts and supporting slides, graphics, research and subject files.
- Bathon (Greg) Papers, 1967–1970. [Finding Aid]
- Managing Director of J. Walter Thompson-India in the 1960s and 1970s; President and Chief Operating Officer of J. Walter Thompson Co. USA in the 1980s.
- Baxter (Loy) Papers, 1954–1978, bulk 1966–1967 [Finding Aid]
- Executive in management and public relations 1947–1977.
- Bernstein (Sidney Ralph) Company History File, 1873–1964. [Finding Aid]
- Primarily research files created for a commemorative history of J. Walter Thompson Co. at its centennial (1964).
- Biographical Information, ca. 1916–1998. [Finding Aid]
- Biographical information about employees of J. Walter Thompson Co. assembled by the Information Centers and Public Relations departments. Files contain clippings from newspapers, magazines, and J. Walter Thompson Co. publications, press releases, company biographical sheets, memoranda, thumbnail sketches, and photographs.
- Black (George) Papers, 1968–1989.
- See entry under Frankfurt Office.
- Brungs (Herbert) Papers, 1969–1988
- See entry under Frankfurt Office.
- Bullen (Terry) Papers, 1967–1992
- Executive with J. Walter Thompson Co. London Office. Unprocessed.
- Burnett (Penney) Papers, 1979–1987
- Executive with J. Walter Thompson Co. Unprocessed.
- Carlton (William James) Diaries and Biography, 1862–1877. [Finding Aid]
- Transcripts of Carlton's diaries and a draft manuscript of a biography of Carlton by F. M. Robins. Carlton created the agency that became J. Walter Thompson Co.
- Carroll (Carroll) Papers, 1937–1979.
- Personal and professional correspondence, memoranda, and telegrams, relate to Carroll's role as head writer of "Kraft Music Hall," his involvement with the Office of War Information, his writing for Bob Hope, and as a contributor to Variety magazine. Paper finding aid in the Reading Room.
- Chicago Office
-
- Hyatt Hotels Corporation Account Files, 1984–1987.
- Research Reports on Hyatt Hotels across the United States. Unprocessed.
- Marketing Vertical File, 1937–1997.
- Contains publications on magazine, television, and other media marketing that J. Walter Thompson Co. staff used for reference. Paper finding aid in the Reading Room.
- Media Research Files, 1959–1998.
- Primarily reports published by Nielsen Media Research on television audience viewing patterns, broken down by ethnicity, gender, time slot, and holidays. Also material compiled by the Media Information department in the Chicago Office. Unprocessed.
- Memoranda, 1980–1999. [Finding Aid]
- Internal office memoranda at JWT's Chicago office. The bulk of memos originated in Chicago, and include information on clients, administrative and staff changes, etc.
- Non-Proprietary Research Reports, 1980–1999. [Finding Aid]
- Research prepared or collected by the J. Walter Thompson Co. Chicago office for use as a reference and research tool, but not on behalf of specific clients; includes market and consumer research reports.
- Personnel Records, 1978–1983.
- Personnel records for "exempt" and "nonexempt" employees. Records from 1980 are missing. Unprocessed. Access restricted.
- Quaker Oats Account Files, 1945–1965, 1977. [Finding Aid]
- Reports, facts, and recommendations prepared by J. Walter Thompson Co. and outside research firms on Quaker Oats/Aunt Jemima advertising character brand, includes competing product report on Bisquick pancake mix.
- Records, 1908–2000. [Finding Aid]
- Vertical files from J. Walter Thompson Co. Chicago and other J. Walter Thompson Co. offices, along with proof files and several hundred market research summations of various product categories. Unprocessed.
- Clark (Harry) Papers, 1970–1973.
- See entry under Frankfurt Office.
- Commercials, 1950–1991.
- Primarily television commercials made for clients of JWT; includes television commercials for Kodak (1950–1991) advertising products such as still and movie cameras, photofinishing, and projectors. Paper finding aid in the Reading Room.
- Committee on Standardization Records, 1919.
- Collection contains the Report on Work of the Committee on Standardization, which describes the organization of JWT, functions of its departments, recommended training courses for employees by department, and personal and educational characteristics sought in employees. Paper guide in Reading Room.
- Competitive Advertisements Collection, ca. 1910s–1997.
- Advertisements of products which were competitors of J. Walter Thompson Company clients. Ads were clipped from magazines and newspapers by J. Walter Thompson Co. staff. Paper finding aid in the Reading Room. [only post 1955 open to research.]
- Corporation Vertical Files, 1915–1999 (bulk 1960–1990). [Finding Aid]
- Alphabetical files of miscellaneous information on U.S. corporations, some domestic and some multinational, includes major J. Walter Thompson Co. clients and competitors of J. Walter Thompson Co. clients (AT&T, McDonald's, General Motors, etc.). Files contain widely diverse formats.
- Cronin (John J.) Papers, 1950–1987
- President of J. Walter Thompson Co. Toronto Office in the 1970s and 1980s. Unprocessed.
A - C | D - F | G - M | N - R | S - Z
- Dawkins (Colin) Papers, 1776–1986 (bulk 1920–1981). [Finding Aid]
- Research files gathered for a proposed book on the history of the advertising business as it was influenced by the growth and international development of JWT; spotlights Ford Motor Company, Kraft, Chesebrough–Ponds, Pan American, and Lever Brothers.
- Dell (Glen) Papers, 1983–1986
- Chief Financial Officer with J. Walter Thompson Co. in the 1980s. Unprocessed.
- Devine (John) Papers, 1956–1974 [Finding Aid]
- Director Radio and Television Department (1950s); General Counsel (1960s) for JWT
- Detroit Office
-
- Domino's Pizza Account Files, 1987–1991. [Finding Aid]
- Strategic plans, marketing seminars, media plans, competitive advertising information, and research materials related to JWT's Domino's Pizza account.
- George (Ed) Papers, 1980s. [Finding Aid]
- Items comprising primarily finished advertisements for a variety of clients, ad mockups, package designs, original art, billboard sheets, and other memorabilia.
- Ford Company Advertising Campaign Materials, circa 1940–2002 and undated.
- Photo transparencies, logo sheets, posters, presentation and other materials used in the development of Ford Motor Company car and truck ads and related client ad campaigns. Also includes advertising subject reference files for creative use and J. Walter Thompson Co. Detroit agency promotion materials. Unprocessed.
- Goldfarb Consultants' Ford Research Reports, 1974–1988. [Finding Aid]
- Goldfarb Consultants' evaluation of advertising concepts for various Ford cars, vans, 4x4s, and pickup trucks. Includes focus groups, statistics, print advertisements, and study questionnaires.
- Newman (Blaise) Papers, 1964–2002
- Executive and account representative with J. Walter Thompson Co. Detroit Office. Paper finding aid in the Reading Room.
- Printed Material, 1990–1999.
- Collection comprises primarily storyboards, presentations on boards, and mounted ads and ad proofs. There are also cassette tapes and documentation for global women's marketing. Unprocessed.
- Records, 1947–1999. [Finding Aid]
- Miscellaneous files from the J. Walter Thompson Co. Detroit office, including Ford Motor Company and competitive collateral literature (mostly domestic), includes accessions from 1991–1999.
- Diamond Information Center: Vertical Files, ca. 1930s–1970s. [Finding Aid]
- Chiefly an informational file concerning all aspects of diamonds from mining to fashion. Topics include famous diamonds, the annual Diamonds International Awards, diamond mining in Africa, jewelry and fashion designers, diamond marketing and sales, etc. Paper finding aid in the Reading Room.
- [see also the Jeffery Collection of Diamond Promotional Materials]
- Dignam (John F.) Papers, 1958–1980s [Finding Aid]
- Account executive and script writer with J. Walter Thompson Co., Lansdowne, and Victor A. Bennett Company.
- Domestic Advertisements Collection, 1875–2001 (bulk 1920s–1990s). [Finding Aid]
- Collection of J. Walter Thompson Co. Domestic Advertisements, grouped by client and then by year, not specific to any certain J. Walter Thompson Co. office. Also includes Oversized Domestic, International, and J. Walter Thompson Co. House Ads, 1919–1990s (bulk 1970s–1990s). Unprocessed additions.
- Domino's Pizza Account Files, 1987–1991.
- See entry under Detroit Office.
- Elton (Wallace W.) Papers, 1909–1990 (bulk 1940s–1960s). [Finding Aid]
- Collection of documents spanning Elton's career in advertising and his role as J. Walter Thompson Co. creative director, especially his work on advertising campaigns for the automobile industry. Includes client information on Chesebrough-Pond's, Ford Motor Company, and Pan American.
- Findlow (Nan) Papers, 1938–1995 [Finding Aid]
- Executive with J. Walter Thompson Co. advertising agency, Bamberger's and Macy's department stores, as well as her own consulting business; specialist in marketing toward women.
- Ford Company Advertising Campaign Materials, circa 1940–2002 and undated.
- See entry under Detriot Office.
- Frankfurt Office
-
- Audio-Visual Materials, 1957–1992.
- Primarily television commercials for various clients and products represented by the Frankfurt office of the J. Walter Thompson Co. advertising agency. Also includes slides and videos used in corporate presentations. Unprocessed.
- Black (George) Papers, 1968–1989. [Finding Aid]
- Includes long-term account planning for individual clients, regional strategy planning for Scandinavia and for the GSA, comparison of international advertising styles and regulations, and J. Walter Thompson Co. worldwide organizational changes. Well-documented clients include: Braun, Campari, DeBeers, Elida Gibbs, Ford, Jacobs, Kellogg, Kraft, Lever-Sunlicht (Unilever), Nestle, Singer, Pepsi, Warner-Lambert, and Wick.
- Brungs (Herbert) Papers, 1969–1988
- Account manager and executive with J. Walter Thompson Co. Frankfurt Office in the 1970s and 1980s. Paper finding aid in the Reading Room.
- Clark (Harry) Papers, 1970–1973. [Finding Aid]
- Focus on his career at J. Walter Thompson Co. GmbH (Frankfurt) Office, major clients include De Beers, Pan American, and Unilever. Majority of collection is in English, the remainder is in German.
- Gilow (Peter) Papers, 1960–1978. [Finding Aid]
- Papers document the development of the J. Walter Thompson Co. GmbH/Frankfurt Office, specifically covers the developments and transformation of German advertising since the end of World War II in television, radio, and print.
- Henkel (Wilfried) Papers, 1957–1987 (bulk 1975–1984). [Finding Aid]
- Papers of the managing director of J. Walter Thompson Co. Frankfurt, an early proponent of corporate advertising and the T-plan (target plan) of JWT's corporate strategy, 70% of collection is in German.
- Ihlfeld (Hans) Papers, 1969–1978. [Finding Aid]
- Executive with J. Walter Thompson Co. offices in Frankfurt, Zurich and Vienna in the 1970s.
- Lanigan (Denis) Papers, 1958–1964. [Finding Aid]
- Covers J. Walter Thompson Co. Frankfurt Office, specifically the efforts to increase and improve the use of television and print advertising in Europe and to improve coordination of international J. Walter Thompson Co. Offices, majority of documents are in English.
- Miscellaneous Files, 1960–1992.
- Contains small quantities of surviving files that document the activities of a number of high-ranking officers at J. Walter Thompson Co. Frankfurt, along with material from subject files. Unprocessed.
- Schwarz (Burkhard) Papers, 1973–1989. [Finding Aid]
- Correspondence, personnel files, financial summaries, client files, and files of prospective business contacts. Clients include Nestle, Kodak, Burger King, Ford, Sunlicht, Elida, Kellogg, and DeBeers.
- Siebel (Paul-G.) Papers, 1968–1975 (bulk 1969–1975). [Finding Aid]
- Primarily in German, contains correspondence with domestic and international offices, mostly concerned with the advertising industry, media planning, account direction, production of advertisements, and business management of J. Walter Thompson Co. Frankfurt.
A - C | D - F | G - M | N - R | S - Z
- Gaeta (Lois A.) Papers, 1956–1961 [Finding Aid]
- Radio and television commercial script writer with J. Walter Thompson Co.
- George (Ed) Papers, 1980s.
- See entry under Detroit Office.
- Gilow (Peter) Papers, 1960–1978.
- See entry under Frankfurt Office.
- Glah (Roy) Papers, 1976–2002
- Executive with J. Walter Thompson Co. New York, San Francisco, Tokyo, and Amsterdam offices. Unprocessed.
- Goldfarb Consultants' Ford Research Reports, 1974–1988.
- See entry under Detroit Office.
- Grisman (Arnold) Papers, 1969–1994. [Finding Aid]
- Creative Director of JWT's New York Office and an Executive Vice President.
- Gutierrez (Victor) Papers, 1970–1987
- Treasurer and Executive Vice President of Finance with J. Walter Thompson Co. in the 1980s. Unprocessed.
- Hamilton (John J.) Papers, 1978–1982
- Copy writer and account representative with J. Walter Thompson Co. Unprocessed.
- Hatcher (Edgar) Papers, 1952–1992 [Finding Aid]
- Executive with Benton & Bowles; Ogilvy Benson and Mather; Kenyon & Eckhardt; Batton, Barton, Durstine & Osborn; McCann Erickson; and J. Walter Thompson.
- Henderson (Howard) Papers, 1867–1978. [Finding Aid]
- Bulk of materials from 1954–1960, particularly illustrates the changes in company advertising philosophy through the 1960s. Well-documented clients include: Jergens, Chesebrough-Ponds, Kodak, General Cigar, NATO, US Playing Card Company, Union Central Life Insurance, Arbuckle, and Standard Brands.
- Henkel (Wilfried) Papers, 1957–1987 (bulk 1975–1984).
- See entry under Frankfurt Office.
- Hinks (Kennett Webb) Papers, 1955–1963. [Finding Aid]
- Materials are copies of Hinks's outgoing office correspondence and memoranda on print, film, radio, market research, product design, selling strategies, and summaries of business meetings. Major clients include Level Brothers, Wool Bureau, and the New Holland Machine Co.
- Holland (Maury) Papers, 1948–1959. [Finding Aid]
- Includes scripts for outgoing memoranda regarding content and format of TV programs and advertisements, all produced by the New York Office's Radio and Television Department; clients include Kraft, Quaker Oats, Rinso Blue, and Advertising Council.
- Hyatt Hotels Corporation Account Files, 1984–1987.
- See entry under Chicago Office.
- Iconographic Collection, 1848–2000 (bulk 1960–2000).
- Collection consists of photographs of meetings and events of significance to JWT; photographs of officers and individuals who work or have worked for J. Walter Thompson Co. (including those taken for publicity purposes); and photographs of the exteriors and interiors of buildings housing J. Walter Thompson Co. Company offices around the world. Paper finding aid in the Reading Room.
- Ihlfeld (Hans) Papers, 1969–1978
- See entry under Frankfurt Office.
- Information Center Records, 1890s–1987. [Finding Aid]
- Reports, memoranda, clippings, financial papers, and printed material relating to specific J. Walter Thompson Co. accounts.
- Information Center Vertical Files, ca. 1920s–1990s.
- Collection contains vertical files created by the J. Walter Thompson Co. Information Center for staff use. The Internal Information Files Series holds information on the company itself, including files on advertising intelligence, recruitment, and organizational charts, as well as foreign office reports. Paper finding aid in the Reading Room.
- International Advertisements Collection, ca. 1920s–2000s. [Finding Aid]
- Advertisements produced internationally or for an international market, or for multinational clients by the J. Walter Thompson Company; most ads date from the 1980s.
- International Office. Records, 1973–1992.
- Records, mostly from 1994, sent to the archives from various international offices. Includes calendars, Christmas cards, sample ads and commercials, reports and publications. Paper finding aid in the Reading Room.
- Johnston (Don) Papers, 1964-1996. [Finding Aid]
- CEO of J. Walter Thompson in the 1970s. Chairman of JWT Group in the 1980s.
- Kaatz (Ron) Papers, 1964–1990s
- Executive with J. Walter Thompson Co.; taught at Northwestern University. Unprocessed.
- Kennedy (James W.) Papers, 1979–1982
- Executive and Director of Human Resources with J. Walter Thompson Co. Unprocessed.
- Lanigan (Denis) Papers, 1958–1964.
- See entry under Frankfurt Office.
- Manning (Burt) Papers, ca. 1970s–1986.
- Administrative files including client and account files, newspaper clippings, correspondence, personal materials, and speeches. Unprocessed. Access restricted.
- Marketing Vertical File, 1946–1999. [Finding Aid]
- Subject files on a wide range of marketing topics used by J. Walter Thompson Co. staff, including financial and legal information, employment trends, awards, and particular individuals in the industry, media, packaging, trademarks and research. Unprocessed.
- Marketing Vertical File, Chicago Office.
- See entry under Chicago Office
- Media Center Print Advertisements, 2000–2004.
- See entry under New York Office
- Media Research Files, Chicago Office.
- See entry under Chicago Office.
- Meek (Samuel Williams) Papers, 1917–1980 (bulk 1945–1962). [Finding Aid]
- Contains Meek's correspondence as the head of the International Department of the J. Walter Thompson Co. New York Office on international operations and policy decisions.
- Memoranda, 1924–1996.
- Official in-house memos documenting a range of administrative policies and procedures. Unprocessed.
- Memoranda, Chicago Office.
- See entry under Chicago Office.
- Metter (Bertram) Papers, 1960s–1980s [Finding Aid]
- Direct marketing specialist; Chairman of the Board of J. Walter Thompson Co. in the 1980s.
- Microfilm Collection, ca. 1910s–1958.
- Contains company records such as advertising proofs, including international advertisements; administrative records, and broadcast scripts ( Lux Radio Theatre, Kraft Music Hall and many others) and commercials for radio and television. Paper finding aid in the Reading Room.
- Miscellaneous Files, Frankfurt Office.
- See entry under Frankfurt Office.
A - C | D - F | G - M | N - R | S - Z
- New Business Records, 1966–1977.
- Consists of correspondence, client files, news clippings, office files, reports, speeches and advertisements. The records document JWT's effort to acquire new accounts and clients. Paper finding aid in the Reading Room.
- Newman (Blaise) Papers, 1964–2002
- See entry under Detroit Office.
- Newsletters, 1910–2005. [Finding Aid]
- Primarily internal newsletters published for the J. Walter Thompson Co. staff; contains information about account losses and gains, campaign updates and other business, as well as a broad range of issues in the advertising industry at large. Paper finding aid in the Reading Room. Also includes the News Bulletin, 1922–1930. This series contains articles by J. Walter Thompson Co. personnel and outside contributors, primarily on topics of general interest to the advertising industry. Includes articles about consumer motivation, market surveys, current client lists, and occasional J. Walter Thompson Co. staff news.
- New York Office
-
- Media Center Print Advertisements, 2000–2004.
- Print advertisements, mainly magazines, for clients including Guinness UDV South Africa, DeBeers, Merrill Lynch, Qwest, Rolex, Kellogg's, and Kimberly Clark. Unprocessed.
- Records, 1978–2000. [Finding Aid]
- Documents from J. Walter Thompson Co. New York Office. Primarily contains presentations made to the World Partner Council meetings (1996–1997) as well as Andy Fenning's files for management meetings and seminar.
- Non-Proprietary Research Reports, 1980–1999.
- See entry under Chicago Office.
- O'Brien (Wally) Papers, 1978–1987.
- Executive with J. Walter Thompson Co. New York, Chicago and London offices; directed Multinational Client Services in the 1980s. Unprocessed.
- O'Donnell (Joseph) Papers, 1983–1987
- Executive with J. Walter Thompson Co. Chicago and New York offices; Chairman and Chief Executive Officer in the mid-1980s. Unprocessed.
- Olson (Sidney A.) Papers, 1957. [Finding Aid]
- Reports and artwork created during Olson's trip to identify production locations in Asia and the Middle East for the Ford Motor Company Television Campaign "Proved and Approved Around the World."
- Personnel Records, 1930–1996.
- Personnel records of individuals who left the company between 1930–1996. Photocopying of any personnel record is not allowed. Paper finding aid in the Reading Room. Unprocessed additions.
- Personnel Records, Chicago Office.
- See entry under Chicago Office.
- Peters (Jack) Papers, 1969–1987
- Executive with J. Walter Thompson Co. Chicago Office; President and Chief Operating Officer of J. Walter Thompson Co. USA in the 1980s. Unprocessed.
- Platt (Lucile Turnbach) Papers, 1926–1930. [Finding Aid]
- Documents testimonial advertising campaigns and spokesperson selection for campaigns for Simmons beds, boxsprings and Beautyrest mattresses.
- Printed Material, Detroit Office.
- See entry under Detroit Office.
- Preschel (W. Lee) Papers, 1966–1998. [Finding Aid]
- President of J. Walter Thompson Co. Latin American operations.
- Press Clippings, 1969–1998.
- Primarily contains articles about J. Walter Thompson Co. business, clients, and staff published in newspapers, popular and trade magazines; most of the articles are in English and from U.S. publications. Unprocessed.
- Publications Collection, 1887–2005. [Finding Aid]
- Includes booklets, brochures and newsletters, published by J. Walter Thompson Co. and its U.S. and international offices; later publications provide research findings, including demographic data, economic forecasts, and media information.
- Quaker Oats Account Files, 1945–1965, 1977.
- See entry under Chicago Office.
- Radio Programs, 1953–1961 and undated [sound recordings].
- 10 large and 5 small reels of audiotape containing radio commercials; programs for Won's Frozen Chinese Foods and Schlitz Beer; the radio show "Ford Startime," along with unidentified radio programs. Unprocessed.
- Records, ca. 1960s–1980s.
- Collection comprises mainly Ford and RCA creative work. Includes scripts, films, videos and history files regarding campaigning details, along with blueprints, and sketchbooks. Unprocessed.
- Records, Chicago Office.
- See entry under Chicago Office.
- Records, Detroit Office.
- See entry under Detroit Office.
- Records, New York Office
- See entry under New York Office.
- Reed (Virgil) Papers, 1944–1958
- Director of Research and an economist with J. Walter Thompson Co. in the 1940s and 1950s; Professor of Marketing and Foreign Trade at Boston University; Director of the U.S. Bureau of the Census in the 1940s. Paper guide in Reading Room.
- Review Board Records, 1947 and 1953–1976. [Finding Aid]
- Records from the J. Walter Thompson Co. New York Office's primary mechanism for controlling the quality of its services; includes guidance for accounts teams assigned to particular clients.
A - C | D - F | G - M | N - R | S - Z
- SAG/AFTRA Files, 1941–1978 (noted in catalog record as: J. Walter Thompson Company. Radio and Television Dept.)
- Correspondence, codes, and contracts pertaining to television and radio commercials produced by J. Walter Thompson Co. for various clients. Unprocessed.
- San Francisco Office. Records, 1964–1999.
- Administrative files and reports documenting various aspects of the J. Walter Thompson Co. San Francisco office. Records from the Creative Library contain audio and video tapes of radio and television commercials, as well as creative output documenting advertising for clients handled by the office. Unprocessed.
- Schwarz (Burkhard) Papers, 1973–1989.
- See entry under Frankfurt Office.
- Seymour (Dan) Papers, 1951–1974. [Finding Aid]
- Collection documents advertising history, including the development of television shows and other aspects of television programming, such as the selection of actors and audience profiles for clients. Clients include Kodak, Ford, Kraft, Lever Brothers, and Liggett & Meyers Tobacco.
- Siebel (Paul-G.) Papers, 1968–1975 (bulk 1969–1975).
- See entry under Frankfurt Office.
- Staff Meeting Minutes Collection, 1927–1938. [Finding Aid]
- Verbatim minutes of staff meetings of JWT, also includes advertisements, photographs, and other printed materials attached to minutes as background for meetings. More detailed paper finding aid in the Reading Room.
- Stridsberg (Albert) Papers, 1955–2001. [Finding Aid]
- Correspondence, memos, reports, speeches, and printed items from Stridsberg's career at JWT, mostly concerned with agency's international offices and clients, marketing of tobacco, and speeches by Rena Bartos.
- Strouse (Norman H.) Papers, 1916–1987. [Finding Aid]
- Correspondence, office files and memos, reports, writings and speeches, charts, client presentations, clippings, photographs, and scrapbooks from Strouse's time at J. Walter Thompson Co. Detroit, especially relating to the Ford Motor Company.
- Sutton (Thomas) Papers, 1965–1975. [Finding Aid]
- Director of International Operations for J. Walter Thompson Co. in the 1960s; Executive Vice-President of J. Walter Thompson Co. Group, Inc.
- Taylor (Winfield) Papers, 1948–1960. [Finding Aid]
- Copy writer and Creative Department executive with J. Walter Thompson Co. in the 1940s and 1950s. Paper finding aid in the Reading Room.
- Thompson Total Branding Award Records, ca. 1997–2000.
- Contains examples of non-standard entry packets for Thompson Total Branding awards. Also includes guides and booklets related to the awards along with various media. Unprocessed.
- Treasurer's Office Records, 1928–1952. [Finding Aid]
- Documents financial operations of J. Walter Thompson Co. offices within the US and abroad; includes correspondence, financial records, and legal documents for a number of multinational clients.
- Tripp (Granger) Papers, 1958–1984. [Finding Aid]
- Contains presentations and speeches; correspondence, memos, publications, and clippings; audio-visual material. Also includes contents and strategy of creative advertisements for Eastman Kodak.
- United States Marine Corps Account Records, 1867–2003 and undated.
- Collection primarily consists of brochures and collateral literature for Marine Corps recruiting (1970s–2000) and includes scripts of radio and TV commercials. Also includes print advertisements and J. Walter Thompson Co. Creative Notebooks, and other ephemera. Paper guide (under JWT Account Files - Addition) in Reading Room.
- Veres (Thomas) Photographs, 1963–1996. [Finding Aid]
- Contains prints, negatives, slides, and contact sheets of photos. Subjects represent a range of New York Office activities and include studio portraits, group photos, and documentation of client and office events.
- Wilson (Edward B. (Ted)) Papers, 1966–1977. [Finding Aid]
- Correspondence, office files, client files, reports, speeches, and advertisements from Wilson's time at J. Walter Thompson Co. New York Office.
- Wilson (Edward G.) Papers, 1906–1991. [Finding Aid]
- Executive and General Counsel for J. Walter Thompson Co. in the 1950s and 1960s.
- Woodell (Shirley F.) Papers, 1943–1958. [Finding Aid]
- Documents the operations of J. Walter Thompson Co. in Mexico, the Caribbean, and Latin America primarily through correspondence written by Woodell during business trips. Includes maps, memos, reports, notes, itineraries, and photographs.
- World War II Advertising Collection, 1940–1948. [Finding Aid]
- Documents the war-related activities of JWT, including in-house documentation of efforts, and work for government, civilian, and war-supporting charitable organizations produced by the War Advertising Council; also includes a few post-war assessments.
- Writings and Speeches, ca. 1918–1998.
- Primarily printed texts of speeches given by advertising executives employed at JWT; topics include general trends in advertising and marketing, specific themes related to JWT's policies and philosophies, year-end reports, and specific marketing strategies. Paper finding aid in the Reading Room.
- Young (James Webb) Papers, 1927–1984. [Finding Aid]
- Contains memos, minutes, correspondence, research reports, advertisements, and tables, especially focused on early development of international offices, public service advertising, and advertising strategy.