The Vietnam War: A Guide to Resources

- Boyte Family
Papers, 1941–1981 (bulk 1968–1977) 11,100 items. Politically active family. Chiefly printed material. Contains some information on the Vietnam War and conscientious objection.
- Duke University Living History Program
Records, 1974–1997. Videotapes and transcripts of interviews by Duke University faculty members with prominent American leaders. Includes a composite tape from the interviews with Ellsworth Bunker, J. Willliam Fulbright, and Dean Rusk relating to perspectives on the Vietnam War.
- Feldman, Robert Craig
Papers, 1969–1970. 88 items. Circular letters and other literature circulated by the Vietnam Moratorium Committee.
- Gosling, William Arthur, 1943–
Papers, 1967–1987. 727 items. Librarian Contains information pertaining to Gosling’s tour of duty in South Vietnam with the United States Army. Includes: official orders; medical records; in-country travel directives; a flyer on his rest and recovery tour to Thailand; correspondence between Gosling and his parents; and printed material including flyers in Vietnamese dropped by the United States forces to communicate with the Vietnamese.
- Guthrie, Milo
Papers, 1962–1987. 15,150 items. Graphic artist, politician, and left wing activist. Chiefly periodicals and printed material produced by a large number of left wing and radical organizations. Contains information about a wide range of domestic and international issues, including Vietnam.
- Henderson, David Newton, 1921–
Papers, 1930–1976. 181,850 items. United States Representative for North Carolina’s Third Congressional District from 1961 to 1976. Contains papers relating to Henderson’s service in Congress and on a wide range of topics, including the Vietnam Conflict.
- Inman, Will, 1923–
Papers, 1939–1995. 10,215 items. Poet, essayist, columnist, editor, and an activist for civil rights, peace in Vietnam, and communism. Duke alumnus. Collection contains poetry and prose notebooks and other writings including literary manuscripts; correspondence; journals; clippings; notes, books, newsletters, and publications; and miscellaneous papers. In his letters, subjects include personal relationships, publications, and various social issues, and causes such as gay rights and Vietnam.
- Jordan, B. Everett (Benjamin Everett), 1896–1974.
Papers, 1936–1974. 104,000 items. Textile manufacturer, politician, and United States Senator from North Carolina from 1958–1972. Senate office files from Jordan’s Washington office on a wide range of topics including the Vietnam War.
- Matthews, J. B. (Joseph Brown), 1894–1966.
Papers, 1862–1986 (bulk 1930–1969) 307,000 items. Methodist missionary, college professor, author, lecturer, and conservative spokesman. The principal focus of the collection relates to Matthews’ work in the area of anti-communism. The collection contains several files pertaining to activist organizations and persons in regard to the Vietnamese Conflict.
- Peterson, Michael (Michael I.)
Papers, 1961–1990 (bulk 1972) 500 items. Novelist, served in the Marine Corp in Vietnam. Duke University alumnus. Chiefly consists of correspondence and writings pertaining to three novels written by Peterson which are based upon his experiences during the Vietnam War. The titles are A Time of War, The Immortal Dragon, and The Enemy.
- Smith, Florence Moss
Papers, 1916–1973 (bulk 1941–1945) 3840 items. Duke University alumnus. Director of Religious Activities on Duke University’s Woman’s College Campus from 1938 to 1941. Chiefly correspondence between Smith and her husband Lt. Frank Ferrell Smith during World War II when he was in the Navy. Also includes correspondence with her son, Captain Howard W. Smith, some of it while he served in Vietnam from 1969 to 1971.
- Whitener, Basil Lee.
Papers, 1889–1968. 297,300 items. United States representative for the eleventh North Carolina district from 1957 to 1962 and for the tenth North Carolina district from 1963 to 1968. Chiefly papers from Whitener’s congressional files relating to issues of national importance during the 1960s including the Vietnam War.
Vietnam War in Drama, Fiction, and Poetry
- Barth, R. L. ( Robert L.) Simonides in Vietnam. Epigrammatist, [1977?]
E Pam 12mo #10191
- Barth, R. L. (Robert L.) Small Arms Fire. Publisher R.L. Barth, c1994
E Pam 12mo #10190
- Bly, Robert The Teeth-Mother Naked at Last City Lights Books, c1970
M Lit B661T
- *Butler, Robert Olen The Deep Green Sea. Henry Holt, 1997
E #18339
- Caron, D. Phillip, (Dennis Phillip), 1948– Eagles and Other Prey: A Vietnam Experience in Prose and Poetry, Volunteer Publications c1989
E Pam #3226
- Fernández Retamar, Roberto Cuaderno Paralelo Unisn de Escritores y Artistas de Cuba, 1973
E Pam #5925
- Hope, Warren Reflections of a Returnee R. L. Barth c1994
E Pam 12mo #10192
- Hope, Warren An Unsuccessful Mission R. L. Barth, c1983
E Pam 12mo #4700
- Lliteras, D. S. In a Warrior’s Romance Hampton Roads Pub. Co., c1991
E #13592
- Mann, Emily Testimonies: Four Plays Theatre Communications Group, 1997
E #17419
- *Mason, Bobbie Ann In Country: A Novel Harper & Row, c1985
E #16087
- Nhât Hanh, Thích The Viet Nam; Poems Unicorn Press, 1968
M Lit N576V
- Nhât Hanh, Thích [Tho Viêt Nam. English] Viet Nam Poems Unicorn Press, 1972
M Lit U58K v.1
- Peterson, Michael A Bitter Peace Heinemann, 1995
E #18309
- Peterson, Michael A Bitter Peace Mandarin, 1995
E 12mo #5255
- Peterson, Michael A Bitter Peace Pocket Books, c1995
E #18308
- Poets for Peace Poems From the Fast c1967
M Lit P744V
- Stamm, Geoffrey Atrocities : Vietnam Poetry Hiram Poetry Review, c1989
E Pam 12mo #1712
*Also in the Perkins Library stacks
Campaigns
Draft Resisters/Protest Movements
- Amex-Canada Amex-Canada Enterprises Periodical published by Americans exiled in Canada. Sept./Oct. 1968–Nov./Dec. 1977
E q#867
- Berrigan, Daniel Go From Here : A Prison Diary Open Space, 1968
A-14 Pam B533G
Personal Narratives
General
Last modified November 12, 2009 11:16:11 AM EST