The Duke University Archives works with the Duke University Libraries' Digital Collections to digitize and provide online access to materials from our collections.
- Duke Football and Basketball Game Film and Video Collection
The Duke University Archives preserves 16mm film and videotape created by the coaching staffs of the Duke football and men's basketball programs. This site contains descriptions of the film and videotape shot, whether an access copy exists, and, in some cases, the physical condition of the original film.
Please visit our exhibits page for other digitized items, including selected photographs and documents.
Duke University Archives Materials at the Internet Archive
The Duke University Archives has digitized several popular resources through the Duke University Libraries' partnership with the Internet Archive. The link above will show all of the University Archives' digitized volumes, or the links below will show only the digitized volumes of particular serial publications. Click here to access the entire collection.
- The Chanticleer: Duke University's undergraduate yearbook, which published its first annual volume in 1912. Chanticleers from 1912 through 1995 have been digitized.
- Freshman Pic Books: Duke's freshman class directory, which is produced annually by the Duke University Alumni Association. The annual volumes available online date back to the Class of 1970.
- Duke University Course Catalogs: Duke predecessor Union Institute produced the first course catalog in 1849, and this serial publication has changed its title several times since (note links below). The catalogs contain much useful information, including tuition figures, course offerings and degree requirements, lists of faculty and administrative officers, and, through the 1950s, rolls of students.
- The Trinity Archive: Trinity College's—and later Duke University's—literary and cultural journal, which began publication in 1887. Now known as The Archive, it is one of the oldest continuously-published literary magazines in the United States and the oldest student publication at Duke University. Issues published between 1887 and 1924 have been digitized.
- Duke University Calendar: A weekly supplement, detailing events, lectures, concerts and performances, and other activities held at Duke University. The calendar was published from Fall 1930 through Spring 1981.
- The Alumni Register and Duke Magazine: Trinity College's—and later Duke University's— alumni news magazine.
Other Digitization Projects
- Duke Yearlook on Flickr
Duke Yearlook is produced by the Duke University Archives to provide alumni and friends of Duke with a virtual yearbook of campus scenes and historical events.
- Duke University Websites via Archive-It
Versions of Duke University administrative, school, department, and organizational websites and blogs archived by the Duke University Archives.
- DukeSpace
DukeSpace, Duke University's institutional repository, provides access to recent Duke dissertations and master's projects, as well as selected university reports and other related documentation managed by the Duke University Archives.
Related Digital Collections from Other Duke University Libraries
Using These Materials
These collections are made available for University use by Duke personnel and for use by other individuals in private research, teaching and study. For such purposes, the user may reproduce materials without further permission from the Duke University Archives, on the condition that proper attribution of their source is provided. The attribution should include a credit to the Duke University Archives, the title of the web page or resource, the URL at which it was located, and the date it was accessed. For other uses of these materials, such as in commercial products or for broadcast, publication, or mirroring, permission must be obtained in advance from the Duke University Archives. Contact us here.