All events were free and open to the public, except for the benefit dinner on Friday night.  Download a printable version of this schedule (PDF).


Friday, October 30

4:00 p.m. - Keynote Address by Dr. Lisa Yun Lee

White Lecture Hall, East Campus

Welcoming remarks by Laura Micham, Director of the Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History and Culture, and introduction of keynote speaker by Cyndi Bunn, MA '95, Former Program Assistant, Women's Studies, Duke University.

Keynote Address by Lisa Yun Lee, Ph.D '99
Director, Jane Addams Hull-House Museum, Chicago, IL

The combination of research, teaching and activism that Jane Addams embodied more than a century ago is at the heart of contemporary Women’s Studies. Dr. Lee explored the parallels between her studies as a feminist scholar at Duke and her work as the Museum’s director.  Lisa Lee created the Jean Fox O’Barr Professorship at Duke University.

Ann Marie Rasmussen, Associate Professor of Germanic Languages and Literature, Duke University, moderated. 


6:00 p.m. - Benefit Dinner in Honor of Dr. Jean O'Barr

This program was held at the Millennium Hotel in Durham, NC. There was a charge for this event, and proceeds benefited the Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History and Culture. 

Dinner Speakers

Ann Q. Curry, ‘65
President, Coxe, Curry and Associates

Nancy Rosebaugh, M.Div. ’80, MSN ‘08   
Former Program Assistant, Women's Studies, Duke University

Paula Burger, ’67, MA ‘74   
Dean of Undergraduate Education and Vice Provost, Johns Hopkins University

Andrew Culver
Grandson, Charlottesville, VA

Judith Ruderman, Ph.D. ‘76
Vice Provost for Academic and Administrative Services, Duke University

Margaret Taylor Smith, ‘47   
Former Chair, Council on Women's Studies, Duke University

Dara DeHaven, ’73, MA ’74, JD ‘80   
Ogletree, Deakins, Nash, Smoak, and Stewart

Mary McClintock Fulkerson, M.Div. ‘77   
Professor of Theology, Duke University

Mary Armstrong, Ph.D. ‘95   
Associate Professor of English and Director of Women's Studies, Lafayette College

Judy Touchton, ‘62   
Former Deputy Director of the Office of Women in Higher in Education, American Council on Education


Saturday, October 31

9:00-10:00 a.m.

Coffee and Conversation

Von der Heyden Pavilion


Opening remarks by Bob Byrd, Associate University Librarian for Collection Services & Director of the Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library. Welcoming remarks by Sallie Bingham, feminist author, poet and playwright, and Paula Gilbert, Director of Continuing Studies.
Continental breakfast sponsored by Continuing Studies


10:00-11:30 a.m.

Plenary on Activism

Perkins Room 217
  Stephanie Sieburth, Moderator
Associate Professor of Romance Studies, Duke University

Amy McDonald
Archives Assistant, Duke University Libraries

Miriam Peskowitz, Ph.D. ‘93
Author, Daring Book for Girls

Nancy Hogshead Makar, ‘86
Professor of Law, Florida Coastal School of Law

Andrea Barnwell, Ph.D. ‘01 (Dr. Barnwell's remarks presented by Lee Wilder)
Director, Spelman College Museum of Fine Art
(Overflow seating in Link Classroom 5 and Bostock 023)

11:30 a.m.-1:00 p.m.

Lunch Break
Library tours available at 11:30 a.m. and 12:30 p.m.

Von der Heyden Pavilion

Remarks by Ranjana Khanna, Margaret Taylor Smith Director of Women's Studies
Box lunches sponsored by the Program in Women's Studies

1:00-2:30 p.m. Plenary on Scholarship Perkins Room 217

Jehanne Gheith, Moderator
Associate Professor of Slavic and Eurasian Studies, Duke University

Deborah Jakubs
Rita DiGiallonardo Holloway University Librarian & Vice Provost for Library Affairs, Duke University

Natania Meeker, Ph.D. ‘00
Associate Professor French and Comparative Literature, University of Southern California

Alison Meekhof Jenkins, '95
Senior Expert, McKinsey & Company

Lynda Sagrestano, ‘88
Director, Center for Research on Women, University of Memphis

 (Overflow seating in Link Classroom 5 and Bostock 023)
2:30-3:00 p.m. Afternoon Break Outside Perkins Room 217
  Remarks by Donna Lisker, Associate Dean of Undergraduate Education and Co-Director of the Baldwin Scholars Program
Afternoon break sponsored by the Baldwin Scholars Program
3:00-4:30 p.m. Plenary on Pedagogy Perkins Room 217
  Kristen Neuschel, Moderator
Associate Professor of History and Director, University Writing Program, Duke University

Elizabeth Dunn
Research Services Librarian, Duke University Libraries

Michael Penn, Ph.D. ‘99
Associate Professor of Religion, Mt. Holyoke College

Katherine Tennyson, ‘81
Chief Probate Judge, Oregon's 4th Judicial District

Melea Epps Greenfeld, ‘76
Attorney, Federal Trade Commission
  (Overflow seating in Link Classroom 5 and Bostock 023)

Closing Remarks

Carolyn J. Stefanco, Ph.D. '87
Founding Dean, College of Humanities and Social Sciences, California State University, Stanislaus
First Coordinator of the Women's Studies Program at Duke

Deborah Jakubs
Rita DiGiallonardo Holloway University Librarian & Vice Provost for Library Affairs, Duke University

4:30-6:00 p.m.

Closing Reception

Perkins Library, 4th Floor Connector
  Sponsored by the Office of the President
and the Office of the Provost