A Guide to Civil War Materials
in the Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library
Duke University


Women and the Civil War

Strategies for finding materials related to Women and the Civil War:
  1. Conduct a keyword search of our Finding Aids

  2. Consult the Duke University Libraries on-line catalog

    Tips:

      Select "Special Collections Library" on "Display holdings first for" pull-down menu

      Conduct a keyword or subject headings search using the following Library of Congress subject headings:

        United States—History—Civil War, 1861-1865—Women
        United States—History—Civil War, 1861-1865—Participation, Female

  3. Look for the following subjects in the Special Collections Library Card Catalog
      Civil war—Women [may be further subdivided by place]
      Women—C.S.A.
      Women soldiers—C.S.A.

  4. Additional Notes:
    Also see bibliography “Women and the Civil War” at the following web site address - http://scriptorium.lib.duke.edu/women/civilwar.html

    For information about some Civil War collections about women that have been scanned, transcribed, and placed on the web consult the following web site - http://scriptorium.lib.duke.edu/collections/civil-war-women.html

Samples from the collections:


[ Larger image ]


Guide to Civil War Materials
http://scriptorium.lib.duke.edu/pathfinders/civil-war/
Rare Book, Manuscript, and Special Collections Library - Duke University
Compiled November 2001 by Janie Morris
See our contact information page if you have any questions.