Strategies for finding materials related to Images:
- Conduct a keyword search of our Finding Aids
- Consult the Duke University Libraries on-line catalog
Tips:
Select "Special Collections Library" on "Display holdings first for" pull-down menu
Conduct a keyword or subject headings search using the following Library of Congress subject headings:
United States--History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Pictorial works
[state] History--Civil War, 1861-1865--Pictorial works
Confederate States of America--History--Pictorial works
- Look for the following subjects in the Special Collections Library Card Catalog
Picture File
Pictures--Military--Civil War
Subject File
Stationery--Civil War--Confederate
Stationery--Civil War--Federal
- Additional Notes:
Three manuscript collections in particular might be of interest:
Photographs of War Scenes, Albums I & II, ca. 1870s-1890s.
The two albums contain 100 photographs from Virginia, Maryland, West
Virginia, Georgia and Florida and are mostly scenes of former Civil War
battlefields.
William Emerson Strong album
This album contains two hundred photographs and cartes de visite, mostly of
officers in the Confederate army and navy. The album also includes images
of some officials in the Confederate government, their wives, and others
William Garrison Reed
Forty-one photographs of areas in North Carolina where the 44th
Massachusetts Infantry Regiment was located from August 1862 to May
1863. Reed served with the regiment during this period and revisited
North Carolina in 1884 when the photographs were taken.
The following web sites might also be of interest:
American Memory web site which includes some photographs of the Civil
War taken by Mathew Brady. The web site address is
http://lcweb2.loc.gov/ammem/
Harp Week [searchable computer file of text and images from Harper's
Weekly made available by subscription in some academic libraries]
|
Samples from the collections:
[ Larger image
]
[ Larger image
]
|
