Skip to main content

Researching in the Carpenter Reading Room
Researching in the Carpenter Reading Room

Aptman Prizes

The Aptman Prizes recognize undergraduates’ excellence in research, including their analysis, evaluation and synthesis of sources. The prizes encourage students to make use of the general library collections and services at Duke University. Eileen and Lowell Aptman (T'89) provided funding for the Aptman Prizes.

Middlesworth Awards

The Middlesworth Awards were established to encourage and recognize excellence of analysis, research and writing by Duke University students in the use of primary sources and rare materials held by the Rubenstein Rare Book & Manuscript Library. Chester P. Middlesworth (A.B., 1949) of Statesville, N.C., provided funding for Middlesworth Awards.

Holsti Prize

The Holsti Prize recognizes excellence in undergraduate research using primary sources for political science or public policy. Ole R. Holsti (George V. Allen Professor Emeritus of Political Science) provided funding for the Holsti Prize.

The Rudolph William Rosati Creative Writing Award

The Rosati Creative Writing Award is awarded each spring in recognition of an outstanding work of creative writing. All Duke first year or sophomore students are eligible.

The William Styron Creative Writing Award

The Styron Creative Writing Award is awarded each spring in recognition of an outstanding work of creative writing. All Duke juniors and seniors are eligible to submit work for consideration.

General Guidelines

  • All submissions must be received by June 15, 2024. See individual guidelines for the Aptman Prizes, the Holsti Prize, the Middlesworth Awards, the Styron Award, and the Rosati Award.
  • Papers or projects completed in Summer 2023, Fall 2023 or Spring 2024 are eligible for the 2024 awards.
  • The awards carry a cash prize of $1,000 (Aptman, Holsti, and Middlesworth) or $1500 (Rosati and Styron).
  • Award recipients will be notified by August 31, 2024.
  • If possible, an awards reception will be held during the Fall 2024 semester.



Aptman Prizes

Carson Holloway
(919) 660-5997

Middlesworth Awards

Kate Collins
(919) 660-5935

Holsti Prize

Ryan Denniston
(919) 660-5876

Rosati and Styron Awards

Arianne Hartsell-Gundy
(919) 660-5881