manuscript repair The core mission of the Conservation Services Department is to ensure that library materials can be used by our patrons both now and in the future.

The staff of the Verne and Tanya Roberts Conservation Lab focus on the physical protection and treatment of materials from the circulating and special collections across the Duke University Libraries. More information on our program, including fiscal year statistics, can be found on our  Conservation Services FAQ page.

Preservation Services

  • Collections emergency planning and response
  • Environmental monitoring
  • Preservation policy development and implementation (i.e. pest management, care and handling, food and drink, etc.)
  • Education, outreach, and advocacy regarding library preservation issues

Conservation Services

  • Conservation of general and special collections materials
  • Constructing custom enclosures
  • Digital projects support
  • Disaster recovery services
  • Exhibit preparation support
  • Pamphlet binding and shelf preparation support
  • Providing consultation and educational resources on library conservation issues

Conservation On The Web

Conservation Links

Location & Hours

Verne and Tanya Roberts Conservation Lab
Perkins Library LL1, Room 023
Monday - Friday, 8am - 5pm 
Phone: (919) 660-5906  

Mailing Address

Verne and Tanya Roberts Conservation Lab
Duke University Libraries
Campus Box 90189
Durham, NC 27708

Shipping address

(FedEx, UPS, etc.)

Verne and Tanya Roberts Conservation Lab
Duke University Libraries
Perkins Library Room 023
411 Chapel Drive
Durham, NC 27708

Our Staff

Beth Doyle
Preservation Officer
Leona B. Carpenter Senior Conservator
Head, Conservation Services Department
Direct Line:  (919) 660-5985
b.doyle@duke.edu

Erin Hammeke, Senior Conservator
erin.hammeke@duke.edu

Henry Hebert, Conservator for Special Collections
henry.hebert@duke.edu

Jovana Ivezic, Senior Conservation Technician
jovana.ivezic@duke.edu

Rachel Penniman, Conservation Specialist
rachel.penniman@duke.edu

Mary Yordy, Senior Conservation Technician
mary.yordy@duke.edu