Library Council Members (2020-2021 Academic Year)

Established in 1929 by action of the faculty of the University, the Library Council advises the University Librarian and the Provost on matters relating to general policy.  In addition, it acts as a sounding board for proposed major changes and serves as a communication link between the library and the faculty.  The Council is composed of a minimum of nine faculty members nominated by the Executive Committee of the Academic Council and appointed by the Provost. The University Librarian and members of the Library’s Executive Group are also members of the Council. Term: three years for faculty members, one year for President of Libraries' Assembly, one year for Duke Student Government Vice President for Academic Affairs, and one year for representatives from the Graduate and Professional School Council.

Term Ending August 31, 2021
* Patrick Charbonneau, Associate Professor, Chemistry (Chair of Library Council)
Jennifer Ahern-Dodson, Assistant Professor of the Practice, Thompson Writing Program
Bruce Caldwell, Research Professor, Economics
Mine Çetinkaya-Rundel, Associate Professor of the Practice, Statistical Science (will not serve Fall 2020)
Michael Ferejohn, Professor, Philosophy
Christopher Johnston, Associate Professor, Political Science
Nayoung Aimee Kwon, Associate Professor, Asian & Middle Eastern Studies
Thomas Mitchell-Olds, Newman Ivey White Distinguished Professor, Biology
Brian Murray, Director, Duke University Energy Initiative; Research Professor, Nicholas School of the Environment & Sanford School of Public Policy
Henry Pickford, Associate Professor, Germanic Languages & Literature
Philip Stern, Associate Professor, History
Kearsley Stewart, Professor of the Practice, Global Health & Cultural Anthropology; Faculty Associate, Trent Center for Bioethics, Humanities & History of Medicine; Faculty Associate, Duke Science and Society MA Program; Co-Director, Franklin Humanities Institute, Health Humanities Lab
Victoria Szabo, Research Professor of Art, Art History, and Visual Studies, Art, Art History & Visual Studies; Director of Graduate Studies in the Digital Art History/Computational Media MA Program, Art, Art History & Visual Studies; Director of the Information Science + Studies Certificate Program, Information Science & Information Studies; Core Faculty in Innovation & Entrepreneurship ;Core Graduate Faculty in Computational Media, Arts & Cultures, Computational Media Arts & Culture
Shrey Majmudar, Vice President of Academic Affairs, undergraduate Duke Student Government representative
Sinja Küppers, Graduate and Professional Student Council representative
Cas Laskowski, Technology and Research Services Librarian, Lecturing Fellow, Duke Law; Libraries' Assembly representative

Term Ending August 31, 2022
John Brown, Professor of the Practice, Music
Susanna Caviglia, Andrew W. Mellon Assistant Professor, Art, Art History and Visual Studies (on leave 2020-2021)
Missy Cummings, Professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, Pratt School of Engineering
Martin Eisner, Professor, Romance Studies
Darren Gobert, William and Sue Gross Professor,Theater Studies
Simon Miles, Assistant Professor, Sanford School of Public Policy, History & Slavic and Eurasian Studies
Charmaine Royal, Director, Center for Truth, Racial Healing & Transformation, SSRI; Associate Professor, African and African American Studies, Biology, Family Medicine and Community Health & Global Health, Duke Global Health Institute; Associate, Duke Initiative for Science & Society
Chris Timmins, Professor, Economics
Aarthi Vadde, Associate Professor, English (on leave 2020-2021)
Stephen Vaisey, Professor, Sociology
Antonio Viego, Associate Professor, Literature & Romance Studies

Ex Officio
Ann Elsner, Associate University Librarian for Administrative Services
Thomas Hadzor, Associate University Librarian for Development
David Hansen, Associate University Librarian for Research, Collections and Scholarly Communication
Dracine Hodges, Associate University Librarian for Technical Services
Deborah Jakubs, University Librarian and Vice Provost for Library Affairs
Timothy McGeary, Associate University Librarian for Digital Strategies and Technology
Naomi Nelson, Associate University Librarian and Director, Rubenstein Library
Dean Smith, Director, Duke University Press